1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Incomplete Installation (10) - God I hate steam

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Fabiano1979, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. Fabiano1979

    Fabiano1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    New patch! weeeeee

    Lets see if now I can enjoy this game!

    Wait, what is this annoying sound...

    Error
    Incomplete Installation (10)

    Hmm..lets try again..

    Error
    Incomplete Installation (10)

    How about it now...

    Error
    Incomplete Installation (10)


    Ok, no panic, lets check out the steam support:

    Incomplete Installation (10) = Steam servers are busy. Please try again later.

    Nice..now I cant play with or without the pacth the game I paid for...sweeeet.
     
  2. Toshiro126

    Toshiro126 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Boston
    Guess I should drink some caffeine when I get home tonight. From some of the posts so far, it looks like I will be up for a while trying to download the patch. :eek:
     
  3. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Probably not. Steam servers are probably having a hiccup with all the people downloading at once. I would have thought it'd be fine when you get home.

    Even better, if you have the default settings and you left your machine running, the patch might be already downloaded waiting for you!
     
  4. Toshiro126

    Toshiro126 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Boston
    I have a laptop computer. I unplug it and put it somewhere safe when I'm at work, as our two cats and one pug have a bad habit of crashing into it if I'm not around. So I don't leave it plugged in when I'm at work. But I didn't know the patch was coming out today anway. I thought we had a week or two to go still.


    If the servers are still busy when I get home, I can always play Civ IV. Or God forbid, actually read the new Al Capone biography that has been sitting on my desk for over a week now. :lol:
     
  5. Maktaka

    Maktaka Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Go into your Steam options and choose a different region, then restart Steam and try to get the patch again. You can typically get around these issues by jumping download servers like this.

    Edit: If the game still fails to launch, go to the game's properties and choose to verify the integrity of the game cache. If you got a bad patch install, one of the game files may be borked.
     

Share This Page