1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Incorrect road linkage

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by Thalassicus, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Noticed in vanilla release-version CiV.

    This is probably noticed in every game testers play, but I guess even the obvious bugs deserve a post. It's sort of surprising this bug still exists.

    When roads link on 2 adjacent sides of a hex and 1 non-adjacent side, the road forks in the wrong direction. The fork points towards one of the adjacent sides, when it should be pointing to the non-adjacent side.

     

    Attached Files:

  2. Armandeus

    Armandeus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Japan
    I think what is happening is the road logic is ignorant of the fact that the road split into two, and instead sees 3 adjacent hexes with a road, and then tries to connect to all of them (in a very ugly manner).
    I see this, and the fact that railroads will connect with adjacent roads(!).
    Is it not true that road and railroad connections give different bonuses (gold vs production)? If so, we would want both connections. However, the worker menu seems set up to replace roads with railroads, and if you try building roads and railroads in parallel hexes to your capital, they snake into each other, seemingly connecting and disconnecting into an ugly mess.
    I think this visually confusing and ugly bug needs prioritization, but this is the only thread I've seen here or on the 2K forums where anyone talks about it!
     
  3. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Yeah, the connection logic isn't set up properly, everything ends up a mess.

    Regarding trade routes, here's how it works. I included this in the revised civlopedia entry for the Harbor in the unofficial patch. Hopefully this helps clarify the roads vs railroads question. :)

     
  4. DaveGold

    DaveGold Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    I've edited the original picture and added some black lines to show the required routes. The simplest correct representation is a triangle.

    If you follow the original road system in from the left and try to go up you'll either follow the roads in a circle forever or take the tight turn at a junction. The turn is tight because the roads are drawn incorrectly.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Is this only a display bug, or does it affect movement points, trade routes or something else? Thanks.
     
  6. DaveGold

    DaveGold Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Looks to me like a display bug. Shouldn't be hard to fix though once someone gets their head around the geometry.
     
  7. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I'll confirm. In the attached save file, the road spaghetti around Sparta looks like what is being discussed.

    Moderator Action: Moved to the Confirmed Bugs forum.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Armandeus

    Armandeus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Japan
    So railroads give the road gold bonus in addition to the railroad production bonus?
    Fine, but it seems strange that late era civilizations would no longer have any roads, only railroads. I think both should coexist and have a different function.
     
  9. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Actually, it's good to avoid building railroads except when absolutely necessary. Harbors cost 3:c5gold:, and two tiles of a railroad are 4:c5gold:, so harbors are always more cost-effective than railroads for coastal cities. The only time you should build railroads is for landlocked cities (or transcontinental transport).
     
  10. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Gotta wonder how long this bug's been around, and how long it will be? Just so it doesn't get forgotten somehow for patching I'm confirming this is still an issue at the 4-month mark. :old:
     
  11. eastwind

    eastwind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    This bug still exists -- and I wish it could be fixed, even by an unofficial mod, though I suspect it's too deep in the engine for a mod.

    I like watching the animations of my units whisking along the roads, and I like building a beautifully laid out road network, and the triangular traffic circles look dorky and make me less happy with my civ.
     
  12. Armandeus

    Armandeus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Japan
    It's in Beyond Earth as well. Sigh.
     
  13. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Please report Beyond Earth bugs in the Beyond Earth Bug Report forum if it's not been already.
     
  14. dasaard200

    dasaard200 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    My thoughts on road/rail :
    Road : to connect cities, and to speed armies to targeted cities; whereas :
    Rail : to speed up commerce connections, and span serious distances in just a few turns .
    Either one, or both, work to smooth out your economic logistics problems !

    For those who read Heinline, "TANSTAAFL" !!

    Moderator Action: This thread is the Confirmed Bug Reports Forum. All posts on these threads should be on the bug itself. Discussions about how roads / rail currently work in Civ V should be taken to the Civ V General Discussion Forum. Discussions about how they should be changed should be taken to the Civ V Ideas & Suggestions Forum.
     
  15. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,349
    So the game has roundabouts, the roads are linked, and show being linked, just in an awkward way.
     

Share This Page