1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Increase population, how?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by vvcv, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. vvcv

    vvcv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Hi, i am trying to find how increase the population in the cities at the beginning of the game.

    Then, somebody could give me a hint or something? The only option that i know is favoring food, but with this method i can't increase the population unless the game is more advanced. If I improve the fields is too slow, so i am searching a efficient method.

    Thank you very much, I appreciate your help.
     
  2. JujuLautre

    JujuLautre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
    Basically: work high-food output tiles, like corn with a farm, pigs with a pasture... This means obviously building a worker at first and research the correct techs (irrigation, animal husbandry...)

    Not sure what your problem is; could you be more specific? Include pictures? Post a save?
     
  3. mechaerik

    mechaerik Magician

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    You are probably building a worker/settler then. Workers and settlers are built with food AND hammers, so all food grown during that time is instead used for building said unit.

    Welcome to the Forums, vvcv :beer:.
     
  4. Tephros

    Tephros Caffeine Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    You'll see the orangeish bar below the city name fill up, and you'll notice it'll fill up faster when you work higher-food tiles. Each population point requires 2 food, 1 happiness, and 1 health to support, but each city starts with a 2 food bonus and various bonuses to happiness and health depending upon other factors. You have to gain a certain number of food points above what is required to support your current population in order to grow to the next level. The number required will increase with each population point added.

    Also be sure to build granaries relatively early in the game. Except maybe the first time, each time your city grows the food bar will already be half full.
     
  5. Supr49er

    Supr49er 2011 Thunderfall Cup

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,603
    Location:
    Bear Flag Republic
    As mechaerik states, cities can't grow while you are building Workers or Settlers.

    Welcome to the Forums vvcv. :beer:
     
  6. vvcv

    vvcv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Than you very much, I was playing without increase the size of the cities :lol::lol::lol:, and i was thinking why my cities can't grow like the cities of other civs.
     
  7. JanissaryRush

    JanissaryRush Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    That would make for a pretty big challenge. Even for seasoned experts.
     

Share This Page