1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Increased Tile Yields Mod

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by Huck Finn, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Increased Tile Yields Mod:

    This is a simple mod to change the pace of the game, which I felt was GLACIAL in comparison to Civ 4 even on Marathon.

    This mod is still a work in progress, so please keep that in mind, and also please give me feedback on your gameplay experiences.

    Basically, rather than changing the game speeds, this mod effects the basic yields of the tile themselves. By doing this, two things are accomplished: 1. Units and buildings are built faster, making for a more exciting game, and 2. the location of your cities matters much more than it does in vanilla Civ5.

    This mod is intended for use on Epic or Marathon speed.

    There are currently three versions to choose from, all of which can be downloaded in the second post of this thread.

    You must manually install files no. 1 & 2, to do this, simply extract the files into your:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay\XML\Terrain

    Directory.

    MAKE SURE TO SAVE THE ORIGINALS BEFORE PUTTING THE MOD FILES IN THERE. IF YOU WANT TO RETURN THE GAME TO ITS VANILLA/NORMAL STATE, DOWNLOAD FILE NO. 3 AND EXTRACT INTO:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay\XML\Terrain

    Version 4 Description:

    -Version keeps the production changes, a hill with a mine will net you 6 hammers, as oppossed to 3 hammers in vanilla. Lumbermills generate 1 food, 5 production.

    -Food output is toned down from versions 2 and 3, a grassland farm with no water in vanilla Civ 5 nets you 3 food, in Version 4, it nets you 4 food. Special food resources like cows yield 5 food.

    -Trade posts generate +1 gold from vanilla

    -Ocean and coastal tiles now generate +1 gold to make them more lucrative.

    -All Natural Wonders 4 production, 4 gold

    -Strategic resources like iron all have a +1 production buff

    -Tech research costs have been increased by 50% across the board for all gamespeeds.

    -Wonder construction time has also been increased 50% across the board.

    Let me know how you like it.
     
  2. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Files:

    1. Tileyields.Zip = First version of the production tweaks, which roughly doubles the outputs of mines and lumbermills, as well as natural wonders. Again, this only changes PRODUCTION outputs, and nothing else. For manual install only. (See first post)

    2. YieldsV2.Zip =
    Second version, this changes production, while also raising food and gold output of luxury resources and trading posts. This second version dramatically changes the game, as oppossed to Version 1, which is more subtle. For manual install only. (See first post)

    3. OriginalTerrainXML.Zip = These are the original Vanill CV5 XML files. If you mess up, misplace yours, or delete yours, simply download these, and extract to

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay\XML\Terrain

    this will restore you game to normal Civ 5.

    4. Increased Tile Yields Mod (V3).rar =
    This is basically the same thing as Version 2 of the mod, but this time in proper "Mod" format.

    Version 3 allows the mod changes to easily be turned off or on from within the games mod menu. To install:

    Simply drop this file into My Games/Civ5/MODS, and it will unpack into the appropriate folder next time you launch the game. (Big Thanks to Valkrionn!)

    5. Version 4= Manual Install. Make sure to backup the two new files being replaced, Buildings and Gamespeeds.

    Install the Six Xml files contained in the Terrains File (From the Zip) into:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay\XML\Terrain

    Install the Buildings XML file into:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay\XML\Buildings

    Install the Gamespeeds XML file into:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay\XML\Gameinfo
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    Do not ever replace your main game files. This isn't modding, its hacking your copy of civ5. It will cause you to be unable to play multiplayer games and will cause problems with all real mods (which require a stable base).

    If you do want to implement this as a mod, you may want to halve the build and train time in the game speed file rather than modifying the terrain costs.
     
  4. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    OOps... Is there any way to change this stuff in a more stable manner?
     
  5. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    You need the mod tools to build and publish. Play with your own copy until then.

    When they are released I'll personally help you build and package it, I'm not trying to scare you off modding (I want more modders, and I love the enthusiasm), I just dont want people breaking their copy of Civ5 and not understanding why other stuff stops working.
     
  6. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Understood! Thanks. I feel like a bit of a moron now. :blush:

    Do you mean the SDK mod tools they are supposed to release later?
     
  7. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    No stress. Keep the enthusiasm, you will be a great modder when you get the tools. They didn't give you the hammer and nails yet and you already started building a house.

    Yeap.
     
  8. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Pretty much what Kael said. :p

    Modding Tools should be available sometime soon. Until then, there's no real way to distribute mods without requiring overwriting game files, which is a bad idea.
     
  9. EncasedMeats

    EncasedMeats Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    This is just about the nicest comment I've ever read on the Internet that didn't involve kittens.
     
  10. Soduka

    Soduka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Though much more easily fixed than ever before with "Verify Integrity" by Steam. It'll simply re download whatever you messed up.

    EDIT: Was interested in this, I suppose the less computer savvy will benefit from not being given a hammer to smash their copy, but now I have to do it myself.
     
  11. Quetz

    Quetz The Tallest Lilliputian

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Heavensent
    going to use this as a temporary fix, so thanks... Kael is right of course, but thanks to Steam, I'll just redownload the game once proper mods are out :)

    edit: oh.. files gone qq
     
  12. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    As far as I know, what I changed in the XML files wouldn't screw anything up beyond repair, it just wouldn't work in multiplayer. I play tested it with the altered xmls, no crashes or anything, then tried putting the old ones back in, and the old production values came back as well, no problems.

    But I can see why it's frowned upon to have any mod that involves alterating/erasing the basic game data like that. I'm too used to Napoleon Total War mods where we do that all time.

    Oh well, I'll just have to wait for the SDK. :)

    Thanks for being gentle and not killing me tho guys!
     
  13. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    +1, its even more of a hassle messing up a steam game, so for your own sake's NEVER touch the original files, except if your very carefully copying (not cutting!) them to use in a mod. I'm assuming civ5 will be the same as IV in that we'll only need to include the changed files (of course in the correct folders and correct hierarchy).

    Very good idea for a mod though, I was thinking the same thing, why is is taking me 50 turns to build a courthouse on standard speed... kinda ridiculous, and way off the standard of pace set by the previous 4 titles.
     
  14. Soduka

    Soduka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    I've never had a problem. You verify the integrity, it'll download the exact file you changed and it's done. As opposed to uninstalling the entire game and reinstalling it from a disc or trying to find someone who will upload their untouched copy. I don't see how it is a hassle in any way.
     
  15. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Should I repost the files if someone wants them? Use at your own risk sorta thing?
     
  16. Bill Bisco

    Bill Bisco Callous Calling

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    590
    LET THAT MODDING SPIRIT THAT CANNOT BE QUENCHED GO FREE!!! RELEASE THOSE FILES!!!!:trophy3rd:
     
  17. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Alright, files are back up on my second post of the thread.

    Remember to save the two original xml files! Store them in a safe place.

    Otherwise, this should work fine! But use at your own risk!

    Hopefully I don't get killed now by the uber-modders.
     
  18. Quetz

    Quetz The Tallest Lilliputian

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Heavensent
    Thanks.. downloading (mainly to see how the AI does with it)
     
  19. Iceciro

    Iceciro Special Ability: Decimate

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,944
    Location:
    in ur empire, takin ur cities
    Don't feel bad Huck Finn, I was planning to do a similar thing, and I'm glad you took the opening barrage for me, and reminded me to post up a disclaimer.

    To Kael/Valk: This isn't hacking the game files, this is how we modded games before developers got so nice with foldered mods and the ability to disable things. :lol: What are we supposed to do, wait until we get the SDK? :smoke:
     
  20. Soduka

    Soduka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    If they want to keep the SDK to themselves that's fine, I'm sure there is a reason for it like insane instability. But with Steam and the streamlined updating ability I don't see, from my perspective, a reason to withhold the SDK beta software.

    I'm sure there are legitimate concerns but that doesn't make the rest of us feel any better. We'll have to direct mod until they release the tools, which could be months.
     

Share This Page