1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Insane Performance Boost

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by MortalD, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. MortalD

    MortalD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    There is a mod on skyrim nexus that allows us to convert .dds files and such to smaller formats and so forth...

    Out of curiosity I just made it convert my Civ5 "Assets/terrain" folder effectively reducing it size from 1GB to less then 200 MB. Game looks and work the same just load in 10 sec not 5 min and have nice performance boost! :crazyeye:

    http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/12801//?

    I believe that this little finding is worth sharing.

    Just be sure to make a backup... :mischief:
     
  2. stackpointer

    stackpointer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    809
    Which settings did you use on the compressor? All defaults?
     
  3. MortalD

    MortalD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    212

    Profiles:

    Minimum setting
    Game select : ALL - just in case that matter

    Textures :

    All 3 upper options. I did not try texture resize with Civ5 yet.

    There are more files u can convert, but trying to force the program on whole game folder will make fog of war not to show - to lazy to pinpoint the file responsible.

    Also some textures may be in packages ( fpk maybe? ) and if yes, it could be good idea to unpack them -> convert them - > pack them back... who knows.

    btw: large map + 512 vram only and no stutter or gray tiles issue... awesome :D
     
  4. mitsho

    mitsho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,394
    Location:
    Europe, more or less
    So, does it still work? It sounds interesting.

    But this thread may be better in the general modding forum rather than the ideas&suggestion one?
     
  5. epicivfreak

    epicivfreak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, should definitely go to general modding...
    Seems like even basic graphics optimization is a bit too much to ask from Firaxis these days eh? :goodjob:
    :lol:
     
  6. MortalD

    MortalD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Its not a mod, but an Idea tho... :) If moderator share ur opinion then I wont mind if this get moved.
    "So, does it still work?" - why would it stop?
     
  7. mitsho

    mitsho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,394
    Location:
    Europe, more or less
    Formulated differently: You don't run into critical errors playing through a complete game?
     
  8. MortalD

    MortalD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    nope

    No problems so far
     
  9. Camikaze

    Camikaze Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26,728
    Location:
    Sydney
    Moderator Action: Moved to the main C&C forum.
     
  10. ww2commander

    ww2commander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Location:
    Australia
    This is very interesting :)

    Which folder locations did you run this on?
     
  11. ww2commander

    ww2commander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok, I tried this and here is my results:

    DX9 - No problem....game scrolling and refreshing seemed 'somewhat' faster.

    DX10/11 - Terrain textures are all messed up....map resembles a Scottish kilt pattern! :eek:

    Rolled back changes. Was worth a try in the end anyway.


    Thanks.

    EDIT: My bad...it seems that the issue with DX10 is not related to this process! I always run in DX9 so have not tried DX10/11 for a very long time (probably since vanilla days!).
     
  12. Jdoug312

    Jdoug312 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Sorry, I'm a little slow atm. I downloaded the file, now what do I do?
     
  13. mrc2022

    mrc2022 Capitão Rolinho

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    this seems cool
    has someone explore it further?
     
  14. tedoll78

    tedoll78 aka 'HylianTom' :)

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    New Orleans!
    I've followed your directions perfectly and have found this to be pretty helpful. Turn times in late game eras are still typically longish for huge maps, but the appearance of grey tiles on the map has been greatly reduced. Thanks!
     
  15. ww2commander

    ww2commander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Location:
    Australia
    Putting aside my unrelated issue, it does seem faster but don't expect bullet speed improvement. As the previous poster said, it does reduce grey tile loading time and there is a smoother scrolling feel that without it.

    I only run in DX9 mode so can't comment on DX10/11 mode (which doesn't work for me :( )
     
  16. mrc2022

    mrc2022 Capitão Rolinho

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    what I meant with further exploration was if anyone had tried this with another folder rather the assets/terrain
     

Share This Page