1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Insane Pop ups!!!

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Bug Reports' started by xaviel, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. xaviel

    xaviel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    I was in my game and i saved, couple rounds after that i accidentally press the standby button on my keyboard. I got back, the sound is a bit fuzzy, that's fine. I quit the game, and reboot my machine.

    I load my saved game, and i get Insane pop ups from the adviser!! Every time i click Return game, a new different Adviser pop up appears. I try disabling the adviser in the options, but no success!!

    Btw, i started a new game and everything seems to be fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Doomed_UK

    Doomed_UK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    253
    I loaded a game last night and I too had the attack of the swarming popups!
     
  3. North Bus

    North Bus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I've been having the same problem, too, for any save game much over 100 turns. The pop-ups just keep coming, even after I've clicked 30-40 of them, and so I have to simply throw out my saved game. Does anyone know if a patch is on the horizon?
     
  4. marstinson

    marstinson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    This sounds a lot like one of the effects noted in this thread. Something happens (I don't recall anyone every saying what) that keeps the game from displaying messages and notifications. They pile up and pile up until a saved game is loaded, which seems to set everything back to normal except for the backlog of messages. Perhaps the two are related? Justathot.
     
  5. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,981
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The unit's not cycling is fixed in the unofficial patch. There is a code bug in vanilla which cause this when you are in Europe screen, double-right click a unit on the docks and left click a profession. As soon as you return from Europe screen unit cycling is cactus. I fixed that. :)
     
  6. dark_lord

    dark_lord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Is there any fix for the "insane popups" bug? I just upgraded to 1.01f but it is still there. I'd like to recover my saved games...
     
  7. dark_lord

    dark_lord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I continued pressing space bar for a thousand of times and it dissapeared...
     
  8. skallben

    skallben Holy Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    It is funny that Civ V now has this exact same issue.
    edit: Oops, sorry about necro.
     

Share This Page