Insert CD!

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by emjay, Dec 14, 2002.

  1. Karl_t_great

    Karl_t_great Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Some CD rom emulators work OK with CIV3, I can post a link if it does not offend anyone?

    I've used it suceesfully since installing a new CD/DVD compo, which causes crashes with most of the games.

    Reboot: Besides the value for money on PTW, consider the developers side. It is a year since civ3 release, if their effort on PTW is not rewarded they focus on more mainstream stuff. I vote for more civ, $30 will not be much per hour anyway !
     
  2. Yndy

    Yndy Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,415
    Location:
    Romania
    You’d better not. AFAIK the rules here are so strict that even posts/links that can be possibly linked with pirate activities are forbidden (See Drunken Fish). Such CD emulator could indirectly help pirating of Civ.
     
  3. lietkynes

    lietkynes Hello sword !

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    Rome
    1) i noticed that the "insert cd" prompt won't show if there is a cd in the drive. ANY cd.

    2) you could use programs like "drive image", making an image of the cd on your hard drive. It is absoultely legal :)
     
  4. Dark Sheer

    Dark Sheer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    2,096
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    While I am against Piracy, I believe the developers are heading the wrong way in copy protection. Technically a program should check for the original CD on installation. This will remove the need for no CD crack and in a way also eliminate the major piracy as I am sure software company loss 1000 times more money or pirate copies sold as compared to those small time pirate who borrow a friend's copy and install it. ;)

    As the way it work now, a big time pirate can develop a no-CD crack and then sell the pirated copies with no-CD crack. So at the moment the software companies are saving from small time pirates and loosing a thousand time more to the big timer. Go figure. :p
     
  5. DaDrunkenFish

    DaDrunkenFish Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    No, the way it works is....
    One game can provide for 10+ people, as no-cd cracks are easy to find on the net, if you really need it emjay, simply search for them.
     
  6. Tatran

    Tatran Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,184
    Well what about the next situation.Your original cd has a little
    problem because of a scratch.You're trying to make a copy,but one of the files/folders is seriously damaged.So you only need
    that particular file/folder to be able to play the game again.
    Personal I don't see any problem by giving or taking a few files.
     
  7. The_Doughboy

    The_Doughboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    I've found that on a multi-cd-rom system you must have the disc in the drive letter you installed it on.

    So if you install a new hard drive or mess around with your letter assignments you may need to re-install after that.
     
  8. Koronin

    Koronin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    I've never seen the game even go to the CD once it's already loaded up and playing.

    I suppose it's possible a store bought copy could install and then immediately not recoginize the CD, but I would venture to guess that's about 1 in 100,000 copies, if not more. And Firaxis will immediately solve this problem should you bring it up to them.


     
  9. Four Four Seven

    Four Four Seven Spearman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    As a fellow laptop owner who's on the road almost every week and wants to play Civ, I have to agree that bringing the CD is a pain. I refuse to use any sort of No-CD crack, not only due to legal issues, but because I don't want shady software on my system (who knows what else may be there?) I wish there was another way. I'd even be willing to go the Microsoft route, with "registration" of the game mandatory. (Perhaps requiring registration only if you desire to play the game without a disk.)

    That being said, I do think that forcing the user to insert the CD has two advantages:

    First, it's an effective method to cut down on most pirating. Most pirating is casual (Lending a buddy the game, she installs it, then gives the CD back to me). The CD insertion requirement cuts out this sort of pirating. And I do think that most people are generally honest - they may not think twice about installing something with no copy protection, but when they see they need the CD, they won't get a crack, they'll buy the game. With the casual pirates out of the picture, the company can focus legal efforts on the big guys.

    Second, it allows a legal owner to play the game on two different systems. Suppose I've got a laptop for travel and a desktop at home. I want to be able to play on both systems. I'll never play on both at the same time. With a registration technique like Microsoft uses, I would not be able to do so without purchasing two copies of the game. With a mandatory CD method of copy protection, I can use both systems, but not at the same time.
     
  10. Laughing Gull

    Laughing Gull charts, graphs, databases

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    Southern California, U.S.A.
    Here is my experience begging for a no-CD patch from Infogrammes tech support. Different situation than described by Killer, but here it is anyway, FYI...

    my email:
    Their response:


    Hey... at least they apologized.
    :rolleyes:



    Would someone please PM me some info? Not related to this No-CD subject, of course. :D I really am requesting information on annual rainfall in New Zealand. Yeah. That's It.
     
  11. CrackedCrystal

    CrackedCrystal Where am I?

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    On a technical note, the odds of this happening are so slim, you probably have the same chance at winning the lottery. How data is encoded on a CD, and given an average file size of say 100Kb, a scratch of about 1/2 inch would effect around half the files of a CD.

    Your logic would make sense if all files were 100MB+ though.

    I am all for allowing Backup copies though. I have Alien Crossfire for SMAC that I still play. And people who play that know Alien Crossfire is no longer for sale. I dread the idea that my CD breaks and I have to spend $75 to get a replacement on eBay.
     
  12. Knowze Gungk

    Knowze Gungk NOT a mushroom

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,100
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD
    I mainly ever use my game CDs once, for the install, & then I crack it (the game that is not the CD).

    I don't care what people say about me for doing so, but to me, my game CDs are precious gems and the more they get used the shorter they live & the more chance they have of being accidently destroyed or placed shiny side up on the desk by an idiot. Like my fallout 2 CD, placed on grit & then had a bloody telepone book dumped on it while I was away for a weekend, needless to say the disc was ruined beyond repair and the worst part was that it was a full installation & didn't even need the CD. Sure I still have the game without the CD on hand, it just doesn't feel right.

    If anyone knows a place in Brisbane that still sells Fallout 2, please let me know, I can't find it anywhere.

    There are just too many factors that can go wrong for me to allow my CDs into regular use, so they get used when they have to and then safely stored away until their expertise is calld upon again. If that makes me a pirate, so be it, doesn't bother me.
     

Share This Page