1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing Call to Power 1 on Windows 10 64-bit (solution)

Discussion in 'Other Civ-Related Games' started by thecrazyscot, Jul 21, 2016.

  1. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,516
    After much trial and effort and lots of googling, I finally got my copy of Call to Power 1 to work on my 64-bit copy of Windows 10. I'd thought I'd share what steps I took to give others assistance as I never found a good step-by-step guide anywhere.

    Note: I'm proficient with Google, not with coding. This involved a bunch of trial and error; I would test the game after each step. Some of these steps may not have been strictly necessary, but I'll include them anyways because now I have a working game so I see no reason to do further troubleshooting.

    1. Install the game as normal
    2. Download and install the official 1.2 patch (you will need to run as administrator in order to install properly)
    3. Download and install the unofficial 1.21 patch (again, run as administrator)
    4. Right click civctp.exe and go the "Compatibility" tab. Run in Windows 98/ME compatibility mode and check "Run as Administrator".
      • When running in Windows XP compatibility mode I could start new games, but it would crash after a few turns. You could give it a go though, it might work for you.
    5. Now to get those videos working (these steps came from here):
      • Open Command Prompt (run as administrator)
      • Install the Combined Community Codec...toggle "Reset all codecs" at the end of the install and restart your computer
    6. If the game still doesn't run, remove all the videos from ctp_data\default\videos and back them up elsewhere
    7. Once in the game, select Game Options and disable wonder movies. I also recommend enabling autosaves.

    Finally, because CtP requires a disk to play, I made an ISO image to save my copy from wear and tear. I used InfraRecorder, which is free, lightweight, and doesn't come with any crap. Windows 10 will mount ISOs natively, or you can download Daemon Tools Lite.
     
    shadowplay and trauer like this.
  2. trauer

    trauer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you very much for the guide, I've been wanting to play cctp 1 for awhile now. Though the patch 1.2 and unofficial patch 1.21 download links appear to be broken. Are they available elsewhere?

    Thanks
     
  3. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,516
    trauer likes this.
  4. trauer

    trauer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    It runs perfectly, videos and all. Thank you very much for your help!
     
  5. Hail

    Hail Satan's minion

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Mother Russia
    I would love if Civilization: Call to Power appeared on GoG. the cd-rom requirement is getting tiresome.
     
  6. SaltyDogg

    SaltyDogg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    thecrazyscot, When using the 1.21 patch updater, I am getting a message that the computer can't update because the "civctp.exe is an unknown version"? And it won't update. I've had this disc a long time - since circa '99 according to the disc's dates. Any ideas?
     
  7. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,516
    Sorry I can't be more help, but I didn't encounter that problem in any of my research on this :/
     
  8. SaltyDogg

    SaltyDogg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Fixed it. I think it was because I didn't run the 1.20 patch as an administrator. Thank you for the help.
     
  9. nonamehere

    nonamehere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm new here, first off I want to say thank you for the guide, it seems to have worked for me except for one problem. For some reason my game can not save any scenarios or maps, so my saved games cannot load. Any ideas?

    Thank you for your time

    EDIT :

    Never mind, I had not played this game in over 10 years and didn't know about making the directories, text files and so forth. I have read the readme file and have got it kind of working.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2017

Share This Page