1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Intermediate Unit Class

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Oni Ryuu, Jan 3, 2018.

  1. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Having just foot or cavalry/mechanised units just doesn’t do it for me. I now have an intermediate class.

    Infantry units are marked as Foot units and Tactical Missiles.
    Cavalry and Light units are marked as Foot units.
    Mechanised units are kept as normal

    The benefits:
    Infantry units can load into infantry (load Foot and Tactical Missiles) and Tactical Missile transports but nothing else. All of my modern warships load Tactical Missiles and therefore infantry too.
    Infantry with the bombard ability can now fire from aboard ships.
    Cavalry and Light units can load into Light (load Foot) and Mechanised transports.
    Mechanised units are limited to loading in Mechanised transports.

    It’s made my game so much more fun. Why not have your Archers torch that Galley or your TOW Infantry destroy that Patrol Boat?
     
  2. Jorsalfare

    Jorsalfare Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    Kingdom of Norway
    Interesting! Does the attack run as normal with infantry units defined as Tactical Missile? Does a bombard attack consume such a unit? How does AI cope with these restrictions - and have you changed the AI tactic flag? In my mod I have only two classes - foot units and none-foot units (Tactical missiles are the only units tagged as that). Sea- or air-transports that can carry other than foot units doesn't become available until the modern era, and AI seems to cope well with this setup.
    Regards. Sigurd
     
  3. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    I’ve been using this method for a while and there’s no downside. I can’t find a fault. There’s no nuclear consequences, no compromises and the Ai doesn’t beehive any differently. They build, attack, bombard, irrigate and everything else they normally do to the same proportions and manner as they did before.
    Just give them the normal AI Strategy.
    Only if you add the Cruise Missile ability.
    It’s like the game was made for it. Keep all of the AI Strategies you were using.
    If Tactical Nuclear Missiles were available in the ancient era they still wouldn’t be able to load into a transport that loads Foot & Tactical Missile units. When Tactical Missile transports become available, infantry class units (Foot + Tactical Missile) and Tactical Nuclear Missiles can load onto them.

    You need to change all of you infantry transports to load Foot & Tactical Missile units.

    It’s so simple and so ridiculously beneficial that I can’t believe that it isn’t the standard setup.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2018
  4. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    In my game, I can have a Heavy Cruiser loaded with Harriers, Apaches, Naval SAM’s, Auxiliary Turrets, Marines, VX Gas Missiles, Nukes and much, much more.

    If all of that sounds hard to believe, here’s the thread for the download.
     
  5. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,060
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    This sounds like a way to effectively implement vehicles as land transports that are not Armies. Have you tried this?
     
  6. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    I’m not quite sure what you’re pointing out. If you’re asking if the AI use land transports; I’ve not seen anything conclusive. I have suspected it a number of times but I can’t prove it.
    I do have a large range of land transports that work for human players.

    I also have a convoluted system for transporting land transports by land, air and sea.

    Option A
    1. Make your upgrade line of land transports
    2. Mark them as King Units
    3. Make a proto unit (available with the first land transport)
    4. Have the proto unit upgrade to the line of land transports
    The proto unit will be the only one that appears in the menu. It can be transported to any city with a barracks to be upgraded to the unit matching your level of tech.

    If you don’t use golden ages
    Option B
    1. Make your upgrade line of land transports
    2. Make a proto unit (available with the first land transport)
    3. Give the proto unit the Starts Golden Age ability
    4. Have the proto unit upgrade to the line of land transports
    The result is the same as Option A but the land transport also appears in the menu.

    Option A & B are single use. Once you upgrade the proto unit; the land transport can’t load onto a vehicle again.

    If you’re not using military leaders
    Option C
    1. Chose Option A or B
    2. Give the land transports the Build Army ability
    3. Make the proto unit the Build-Army Unit in the General Settings page
    The land transport can reset to the proto unit at will. Remember to update the Build Army button graphics.

    Additionally, your proto unit can be traded with other players if it doesn’t have combat stats.
     

Share This Page