1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

iron0037's America Map

Discussion in 'Other Sid Meier Games' started by iron0037, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. iron0037

    iron0037 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Washington DC, USA
    A while back, I was frustrated by the lack what I considered a good map of the Americas for Colonization. I made this sometime in 2005 for my own use. Several revisions came out as I played the game. I haven't touched it in a while and figure it's as good as it's going to get.

    So if there's anyone out there that still plays, here you go. I'm attaching a screenshot; sorry about all the cities as I couldn't figure out how to screen capture my DOS map editor.

    Enjoy,
    -iron0037
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    That's a great map Will :goodjob:

    I especially appreciate the opportunity to bridge the ismus with a single city for a quick route to the West Coast (the previous America map didn't allow that). I haven't fired up Colonization for a while but when I next play I'll try out your map.
     
  3. Grand Dad

    Grand Dad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It's undoubtably a better map than that in the game...does it have the same resources and tribes...cities and villages?

    Good Luck & PEACE!!!
     
  4. iron0037

    iron0037 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Washington DC, USA
    Thanks for the feedback guys. The resources and tribes are the same as the normal game; it's just a map variation. I mention in the notes that tribe locations are a little strange due to I'm guessing internal hard-coded tribe placement rules.

    I also should mention that the screenshot is slightly out of date. I converted much of the tip of Brazil to swamp/marsh to dissuade colonization there. Even to this day, it isn't a terribly populated region. You are welcome to change it back if you prefer :).
     
  5. Grand Dad

    Grand Dad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Bridging the Isthmus is more important in Civ if you choose the Earth Map, but here in Colonization too it helps in shortening the westward journey :)
     
  6. spycatcher34

    spycatcher34 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    United States of America
    Thank you very much, I was looking for a new map to play on just the other day and was frustrated when I couldn't find anything worth wasting my time on.
     
  7. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I have just completed a game on this map using a 'West Coast' strategy. I chose the Dutch because of their faster ship and crossed to the Pacific at Panama,then sailed up the west coast until I found silver near Seattle. I had very little contact with the other Europeans for the whole game and with the local indians being the friendly Inca it was mostly a building/economic game, with just a little piracy thrown in. I won in 1681 for a score of 2295 (the French beat me to independence).

    One interesting occurrence was that the French somehow managed to strand a ship in the St Lawrence and it was there for most of the game.

    Thanks for the map.
     
  8. Grand Dad

    Grand Dad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Pakistan
    With or without the map Colonization remains a very good game after Civ. Microsoft with their AOE series I - III and Sierra with Empire Earth tried to better it but without success :(.
     
  9. iron0037

    iron0037 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Washington DC, USA
    @dalgo:
    Glad you enjoyed it. I have never attempted a west coast run...it sounds rather difficult to pull off. You had colonies all the way down by the Inca? Impressive :).

    The Pacific Northwest is actually supposed to be one tile wider in the corner. I didn't realize the game clips land on the east-west edges.
     
  10. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    In fact I only had 8 colonies, in my game the Inca had settled in California :lol:
     
  11. Ari Rahikkala

    Ari Rahikkala Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Ay, it seems that the author accidentally left that as a sea lane instead of an ocean tile, so AI ships coming from Europe can spawn in it. It's easily fixable using the map editor.
     

Share This Page