Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No? Then it might be a bug...

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by Vehem, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    FFH removed it a long time ago. The tooptip was wrog.

    That said, he really does need something better. I made a module for this sort of thing a while back. search for Monstrous creatures. It should work with the current FF
     
  2. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Or just play FFPlus, which has incorporated. :goodjob:
     
  3. odalrick

    odalrick Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,114
    The code for granting spell promotions for Amurite units includes the line:

    Code:
    if city.getNumRealBuilding(gc.getInfoTypeForString('BUILDING_WIZARDS_HALL')) > 0 and not city.getNumRealBuilding(gc.getInfoTypeForString('BUILDING_CAVE_OF_ANCESTORS')) > 0:
    I vaguely recall getNumRealBuilding ignoring free buildings, like the mage guilds gained from... that wonder, that I never build... requires a mage guild, is available at Knowledge of the Ether. Totally forgotten the name....

    Anyway, the possible bug is that if you build that wonder, you'll never build any real mage guilds, so you'll never get any spell promotions.

    (I could be wrong, quite frankly it's so late I'm not even sure Wizards Hall is a Mage Guild replacement.)
     
  4. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    It is.

    What should be used instead of GetNumRealBuilding ? I can edit it in.
     
  5. odalrick

    odalrick Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,114
    getNumBuilding

    In fact, doing a global search and replace to replace getNumRealBuilding with getNumBuilding probably wouldn't break anything that isn't broken.
     
  6. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Would getNumRealBuilding ignore buildings created by spells in general?

    For example, things from pelemoc's spells ?

    I'm having a thorough look through the eventmanager before I make that global change.
     
  7. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Just done a little test. Indeed, in cities with a free wizard's hall from the catacomb, you never get free spells on creation. I'll fix that while I'm looking over the spell in general
     
  8. odalrick

    odalrick Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,114
    I think the spell made buildings are considered real. It just that the engine removes them when there is no local caster. getNumRealBuilding is a Firaxis function, so don't expect it to know about spells and lizards and dragons and...

    As far as I can tell getNumRealBuilding is mostly a debug tool. For any in game effects, it rarely should matter if the building was built or granted by wonder. Especially since you can't build a real building after getting a free one.
     
  9. Pohlmann

    Pohlmann Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    im wondering.

    im playing tectonics at the moment and realized that you cant use forts as a means of creating a canal like in normal bts.

    this really sucks i must say. tectonics map often leads to unconnected oceanparts and without canals you cant spread the fishercorporation for example. or is there a way i dont know which could work out?
     
  10. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I believe this is a deliberate thing that the team did, not a bug, I'm not sure why, though. Xienwolf would know.
     
  11. odalrick

    odalrick Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,114
    Yes. The relevant improvement tag is bActAsCity . It allows ships to enter, resources to be collected and City Garrison to work. At least in BtS, I don't think anything has changed.

    I think it was removed because the AI places too high value on it.

    I favour adding bActAsCity to the higher levels of forts.
     
  12. Iceciro

    Iceciro Special Ability: Decimate

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,944
    Location:
    in ur empire, takin ur cities
    I favor removing forts because the AI is freakin' ******** with them. <_<
     
  13. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    If the forts had bActasCity the AI would also build them instead of mana nodes and end up wasting many good sources of mana. In Rise of Darkness I had forts not have bActasCity but Castles and Citadels did.
     
  14. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    Has anyone been able to load a scenario with FF? Whenever I try I get this:



    Then another message that I can't see when I hit OK and choose a leader and then it crashes to desktop.
     
  15. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
  16. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    Yes, is there anything special that prevents it from loading?

    Edit: Got it. Only had to add in data for players 35 to 49.
     
  17. Pelaka

    Pelaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    I'm not sure if these are bugs are not:

    1. In my current game no one else is researching religions. It well past turn 300 so I'm now slowly researching them all myself.

    2. I can't trade for resources. It seems the game only lets me trade for resources if the other party has the appropriate tech, not if I have the right tech. Is it supposed to be dependent on both parties?

    Pel
     
  18. Iceciro

    Iceciro Special Ability: Decimate

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,944
    Location:
    in ur empire, takin ur cities
    Pelaka, that seems a bug just based on the fact that in my recent SP games I've had every religion snagged but Ashen Veil. And sometimes AV, too.
     
  19. hbar

    hbar Constant

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I can confirm the no religion thing, although someone founded FoL in my last game (Classical era start). Other then that, I've had absolutely no trouble nabbing all the shrines in my games.
     
  20. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I can provide a counterpoint. In a hotseat game I've been playing as the dural (on patch B), the Elohim beat me to order. RoK and FoL were founded long before that, too. And the elohim also founded Empyrean.

    Maybe it's dependant on factors in your game, like everyone else having bad starts, or getting in wars and going for military techs
     

Share This Page