1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is it possible to have a great ancient empire in this game, like Persia or Greece?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by CivAddict2013, Dec 19, 2013.

  1. CivAddict2013

    CivAddict2013 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    I know the topic is kind of complicated. But basically, if you look back in history, in the BC Era there were many great and large empires like Persia and Greece.

    However, is it possible to have a large ancient empire in Civilization V before the AD era? As great as Persia or Greece? As fast as the Ancient Era goes it seems not.

    If not, are there any mods that make the Ancient Era longer?
     
  2. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm pretty sure there is a slow research mod out there that can give you more time at each era without having production penalties. I haven't tried it myself though.
     
  3. headcase

    headcase Limit 1 Facepalm Per Turn

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,213
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This is pretty hard to do (outside of playing on an easy difficulty), because for gameplay reasons the world is much more stable than in real life. If the game were realistic, civs would come and go, split and merge, based on the whims of leaders, people, and random events that no one really has control over. In-game, it's all pretty much determined by the map, starting locations, and the actions of the players. Also, the game is deliberately designed to make it hard for a player to lose their land early on (except against civs such as The Huns and Assyrians, and even then...)

    The slow research mods help, but once you have one civ dominating the others, it will continue to dominate unless the player of that civ decides to give away cities.
     
  4. Vitruvius

    Vitruvius King

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    862
    Theres slomo science mod to slow research. There are also mods that locks the game at a certain era.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  5. shaglio

    shaglio The Prince of Dorkness

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    3,386
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lawrence, MA, USA
    The funny thing is, if Real Life was a game of Civ, the Mongols would have been a runaway and the game would have been over. But where are they now? Just a little half-forgotten country and not nearly as impactful on the global scene as they once were.
     
  6. Talcove

    Talcove Slayer of Spies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Mississauga
    The Mongols? If real life were a game of Civ then the Mongols wouldn't exist, it would be the Greeks or the Romans in charge of everything, maybe even the Egyptians or the Persians.
     
  7. Greizer85

    Greizer85 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Short answer: no.

    Long answer: noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

    You're welcome. :)
     
  8. Wodan

    Wodan Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    The game doesn't (not without mods) currently really implement civil wars or pandemic. Disintegration into regional states started the process and the Black Death really killed the Mongol Empire. In the mass chaos, individual nations rose again.

    So, to the OP's point, the game doesn't really allow that kind of scenario anymore than it does civil war / plague.
     
  9. budweiser

    budweiser King of the Beers

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,251
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hidden Underground Volcano Lair
    Also Byzantium would have lost half of their population in one turn. But that stuff was taken out because it makes players sad.

    And yes, you can get a big empire if you play Rome, Persia too I'm sure.
     
  10. jogi

    jogi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    The empires you mentioned didn't reach their full glory until they were into the classical era, around 1000-500 BC. They achieved their greatness through lots and lots of conquest. If you play on a slower speed in Civ and put an early focus on wars and expansion, its definitely possible to create an early "great" empire. It's just generally not as good of a strategy as building up science and economy before launching into major wars, gameplay wise.
     
  11. CivAddict2013

    CivAddict2013 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Thanks. I might try playing it on a slower speed then.
     
  12. CHEESE!

    CHEESE! On a long nostalgia trip

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,219
    Gender:
    Male
    For me, when I want to have an ahistorical, arcade-game-style experience, I play Civ 5. For a more in-depth, historically functional and accurate game, IV : Rhye's and Fall : Dawn of Civilization.
     
  13. bbbt

    bbbt Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,880
    There are mods that let you stop the tech progress after a certain era - so you could end it after the medieval or classical era, etc. and there would be no more progress
     

Share This Page