1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is it worth conquering all the cities?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by daviscor, Dec 30, 2011.

1. daviscor

daviscor Prince

Is it worth conquering all the cities or just the ones with useful resources?
    If I don't finnish all the cities, are the possibilities of the opponent coming back and re-conquering the cities big?

2. Tabarnak

Tabarnak Cut your lousy hairs!

Yes. Sell them.

3. Civsassin

Civsassin Immortal

Now that's something I've never tried before. I'll have to give it a go. Typically, how much gold do you get?

4. daviscor

daviscor Prince

Yeah, I'm curious too...
    But in a way, that would not help if you're going for a domination victory, because basically you're conquering a city do sell to another one you will have to conquer anyway...
    That all depends on the amount of gold the AI gives you...

5. Tabarnak

There is some evidence that some cities have really low value because it's a little city, isolated, etc. But it's also usually an easy city to capture and to burn.

Best cities to sell are those that get you out of high unhappiness(below -9), and/or those very close to the civ you want to sell and good relationships.

For example :

A=your cities
    B-C-D=AI cities
    *=capitals

---A*---A2---C*
    ---A3---C2---D2
    B2---B*---C3---D3
    --C4---D4---D*

Situation 1 : You conquer B2 city. Selling this city to civ C will probably give you more :c5gold: than D because B2 is probably closer and there is no other cities between them.

Situation 2 : You capture C2 city. Sell this city to D or B depending of what they offer. You can choose which civ you want to sell and get maximum of it(check diplo situation and civ's army strengh for sure).