1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is it worth it to lock in district cost instead of allowing a new resource to pop up?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Strategy & Tips' started by Arms Longfellow, Jan 31, 2018.

  1. Arms Longfellow

    Arms Longfellow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    176
    First of all, I want to confirm that this "bug" still exists and wasn't changed in a patch: When you can begin construction of a district, you should do so as quickly as possible to lock in the production cost. Then you can switch back to building whatever it was you were building before, and resume work on the district at your convenience. This will stop the district cost from escalating as you advance through the tech eras.

    But one drawback to this technique is that you cover up potential strategic resources from being unearthed after you research the appropriate tech. This is especially true in a capital city since they are given a high bias for resources.

    Is it worth the risk of covering up new strategic resources? I think locking in is good in the early game because you don't really need to worry about covering up iron; you rarely want to build districts on hills, but you could potentially be depriving yourself of niter, oil, aluminum, uranium, and artifacts later in the game.
     
  2. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    When you discover that resource tech that resource is automatically granted to you if you place a district beforehand.
     
  3. Arms Longfellow

    Arms Longfellow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    176
    So I guess that's what happens when the notification pops up: "You have discovered a new resource" but I can't find where it is. I always assumed that it appeared in my city centre. If this is the case, it swings heavily in favour of laying districts as soon as possible, although you do lose out on the extra production that you get from opening a mine on those squares.
     
  4. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,737
    The only real downside is you can miss the iron working eureka because you did not build a mine in that tile. The same rule applies for other resources.
    You also miss a little production but save a builder charge.
     
  5. Aurelesk

    Aurelesk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    I do think this is intended. If the Production cost of the district raise with the number of technologies / policies, then the building time will go up (because of increased Production cost) and down (because of more Production added to cities like: more population, industrial zone, envoy...). If you see the district remaining time goes up for no reason, then people that are not aware of the raising cost will be medused at this, and think the whole thing is buggy
     
  6. Esperr

    Esperr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    866
    Bug or not, its how the game works currently and is a big part of fast wins.
     
    Victoria likes this.
  7. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,737
    I do, it has been mentioned everywhere a myriad of times, either intentional or best of a bunch of choices. I may be wrong, let see what R&F brings
     
  8. EEE_BOY

    EEE_BOY Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    NZ
    If resources are automatically hooked up, how can I see where it is exactly under which district?

    Strategic view?
     
  9. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,737
    Look in resource report to identify city then hover over the districts in that city... simples.
    upload_2018-2-17_15-14-35.png
    upload_2018-2-17_15-15-30.png
     
  10. EEE_BOY

    EEE_BOY Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    NZ
    Nice, thank you Victoria.

    I need to use the reports more to get familiar with.
     

Share This Page