1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is my tactic dumb?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Hal.E, Apr 13, 2011.

1. Hal.E

Hal.E Chieftain

Hey all,

I am a novice Civ3 player, mostly playing C3C.

When I am conquering someone usually their cities have few population left in them due to my bombing, so instead of keeping them, I nuke them and then abandon them, and as my foes usually do ICS this leaves a polluted buffer between me and my foes.

Obviously I keep the good cities, but the pop1's with low level buildings go kerblewie.

My reasoning behind this is that they will have to clear it up if they want to rebuild cities there, as I usually only go to war to keep my foes down, rather than for victory, thus I wont be expanding into the area.

Thanks!

2. Delphi456

Delphi456 Chieftain

There isn't any point in reducing their population below 6 - there defensive bonus kicks in at pop 7.

Assuming you are playing on a level below Emperor, I'd try to keep the towns and starve them down to 1. Otherwise, raize the town for slaves.

3. bigFRANK

bigFRANK Chieftain

If that’s how you like to play then carry on, I don’t think it’s a good strategy though.

If you do make nukes (and intend to use them) then use them to kill your opponents massed troops/navy/airforce/nukes rather than as city destroyers alternatively use them to cut of vital supplies that are out of range of your bombers e.g. your enemy only supply of aluminum, or if there importing goods that they cant build units without hit the capitol as melting the roads will effetely break the trade deal.

4. vmxa

vmxa Chieftain