1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is Religion Necessary?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Makonnen5, Sep 9, 2010.

1. Makonnen5

Makonnen5 Chieftain

If founding a religion in civ 4 a must for success? I have read about all the great things it does(from Sulla's Tutorial) but im just starting out and im trying to re-learn concepts from civ 3 that are new in civ 4 so im kind of shying away from religion until have it down. I am playing on prince difficulty btw.

2. Esham

Esham Chieftain

Its not necessary for some reasons. Mainly if you don't found one you can adopt someone else's to make diplomatic relations better rather then founding your own and adopting it and getting negative relations for being a heathen. The shrines for religion from GP can be a very good economy booster. But you can just conquer someone elses if you want.

On the other hand if you can get an early religion and spread it to your neighbours it can be beneficial as well.

Basically, don't go out of your way to get a religion but if you do spread it like mad or adopt a neighbours to keep things cosher.

3. Derakon

Derakon Prince