1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is religion overrated in MP?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by A+ombomb, Dec 13, 2005.

1. A+ombomb

A+ombomb Actuary

I haven't really had civ4 that long, but from my current understanding of the game mechanics, religion doesn't really seem all that good, or at least not something that you need to immediately rush to, especially in MP. However, I have noticed that other players seem to always like to grab religions like hotcakes, as if they were just amazing. I would love to be enlightened as to why religion is so wonderful as a b-line tech choice over something like bronze working, so any input would be welcome, thanks.

2. Tangram

Tangram Chieftain

I'm still a newbie myself, but I suspect they're going for the financial and recon benefits of a holy city with a shrine. A shrine gives extra gold for every city with the shrine's religion, and lifts the fog of war in the nine tiles surrounding each of those cities. Grab Hinduism or Buddhism, build Stonehenge for an early Great Prophet, and you're off to a good start.

3. Vindicator7

Vindicator7 Chieftain

I used to do that as well. But the trouble is that if you miss out on Budhism, and Hinduism, and still try to streamline to a religion you could set yourself back from other players.

And after getting a religion, you have to go out and spread it which sets you back even further. Then even if you spread it successfully, what do you get in return, maybe a extra 10-15 golds a turn. And in multiplay, religion has little affect on how other players feel about you. So I think it is better to just forget about religion and focus on other aspects of the game. At least in multiplayer.

4. ackum

ackum Chieftain