1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is the AI cheating even on the lowest difficulty?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Veriaqa, Jul 27, 2018.

  1. Veriaqa

    Veriaqa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    I never play the game below prince difficulty. But yesterday, just for fun, I play on the lowest difficulty. I play the TSL Earth, with only 1 ai. I play Gitarja and the AI play John Curtin. After 10 turn or so Curtin declared surprise war on me and he attacked me with endless warriors, archers, and war chariots. At one point I counted that they have 5 warriors, 4 archers, 2 war chariots, 2 scouts, and 1 builder. And I already killed some of his warriors and archers.

    I don't think the AI are that good, so is the AI cheating?
     
  2. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    Honestly, sounds impossible. Are you sure of the numbers and turn time you are reporting?

    In fact, at the lowest diff it is you that is "cheating", the player is the one receiving the bonuses there...
     
  3. AmazonQueen

    AmazonQueen Virago

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,318
    Location:
    Climbing Kero Fin
    Given that they start on seperate land masses on TSL Earth I'm surprised they'd even met at turn 10. What speed was the game played at?
     
  4. Veriaqa

    Veriaqa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    To answer the question it's online speed. And yes that was impossible for Australia to have that much units so early in the game. It wasn't 10 turns exactly. But i'm sure it was below 20. Because I'm not even have my second city yet.
     
  5. seankhan

    seankhan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    it does cheat from time to time,i remember a

    the ai uses one turn building,as you go up the levels it becomes constant,so low level its rare but possible,you where just unlucky i guess.
     
  6. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well, according to modders, who have access to (this part of) the code, AI actually gets penalties below prince.
     
  7. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,280
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Was it an ancient era start? If it was a later ers start, the AI (and you) start with several units, not only warrior and settler.
     
  8. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    If online speed and 20+ turns, it is possible, even with penalties at lower diffs.
     
  9. AmazonQueen

    AmazonQueen Virago

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,318
    Location:
    Climbing Kero Fin
    I think this is the answer. Online speed and maybe it was a little longer than the OP remembers. I play Gitarja a lot on that map and she has 1 small island, Curtin has Australia which has plenty of sheep, cattle and horses
     
  10. Ogro

    Ogro Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Strange. Perhaps it's a civ 5 thing, but in the lowest difficult the AI isn't supposed to declare war against the human player, least yet a surprise one. Were you using any MODS?
     
  11. liv

    liv Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,393
    It sounds worse than deity so maybe you accidentally picked the highest difficulty???
     
  12. Veriaqa

    Veriaqa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    It's ancient era. And I didn't use any mods. And yes Curtin declared a surprise war against me.
     
  13. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,396
    I see two possibilities here:

    - You're misremembering things / overplaying what actually happened
    - You've run into a situation where your opponent was extremely lucky and managed to get ahead far further than they were supposed to be

    Whichever it was, it seems clear that the outcome is not based on heavy AI cheating.
     
  14. Rotomagus

    Rotomagus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    can you elaborate on that one turn building please?

    btw, I've seen the 'AI' put out more than 1 unit per round in attacked cities. At low levels. Cheat it is...

    Is there a mod that brings in a difficulty level, in which AI and HI do not get any bonusses?
     
  15. Nigel_Tufnel2

    Nigel_Tufnel2 King

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Great Plains of North America
  16. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    This is Civ 5. We could clearly see the code for this in the dll source. We cannot say the same for Civ 6 as we don't have the source yet, but reports of DoWs in lower difficulties clearly suggest that they got rid of such an idiotic handicap for the AI.
     
    Ogro likes this.
  17. Slip de Garcon

    Slip de Garcon Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    SW England
    Certainly at King, once the AI has archery it will happily produce one archer per turn ad infinitum if you are attacking a city.
     
  18. liv

    liv Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,393
    AI often have a lot of cash and may buy units.
     
  19. Hans Castorp

    Hans Castorp Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    One question. TSL start would mean that he would need Shipbulding to be able to attack you at all with land units. I never play online speed, so I don't know if that is feasible in the timeframe you mention. The AI does tend to beeline that tech when in an island starting situation, but it would mean that the AI would have to be in the Classical era before you were under attack. Was this the case?
     
  20. AmazonQueen

    AmazonQueen Virago

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,318
    Location:
    Climbing Kero Fin
    I forgot that.
    Found first city on coast, tech Sailing, build 2 galleys for the eureka, tech Shipbuilding and build army whilst teching it
    I've beelined shipbuilding when playing Indonesia on that map because she has no room to expand w/o it but I'm surprised the AI with a fairly large island to settle would do it and it seems very quick.
     

Share This Page