1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Is there any map converter?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by deyot, Oct 6, 2004.

  1. deyot

    deyot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Lodz, Poland
    Hi.
    I'm new to this forum and I don't know if this is a correct place for my post so forgive me if it isn't.
    I'm intrested if there is any converting tool for civ3 maps. My problem is that most of the maps released today on this forum are in bix or biq format. But I have only civ3 without any add-ons. So bic maps are the only maps I can use. That's why I ask you if there is any tool that would allow me to convert the bix and biq maps to a bic format so I could play all those wonderful maps made by all of you gifted mapmakers.
     
  2. LouLong

    LouLong In love with Rei Ayanami

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,385
    Location:
    Fontainebleau FRANCE
    As far as I know it is impossible to convert bx or biq to bic, even though it is possible to convert maps "up" (from bic to bix or biq).
    You must dig in the oldest threads. Sometimes people make a bic version on request but rarely as it means often redoing the map and most people have Conquests or PTW.

    Good luck though, kolega !
     
  3. MaisseArsouye

    MaisseArsouye gentil petit nuton

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Djiblou
    There's a way, I just converted a biq to bic ! But unhappylessly, it won't work every times.

    For this, you need MapTweaker. That utility can open biq files. Once you opened the map you want to play, you can use the "save as" function and select .bic !

    The problem is that MapTweaker can't read "compressed" biq files. There's an option "compress biq files" in the editor. If the maker choosed it, you can't open the file with MapTweaker :(

    But if you find somebody very nice having Conquest, he can open the map you want, "un-choose" ( what's the english for "d├ęcocher" :confused: ) the "compress biq files" option, save it and then share it with you ;)



    @Map makers: Maybe it would be a good idea to share our biq files without the compress option ?
     
  4. bjbj1991

    bjbj1991 E=MC2

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Sacramento California
    You do not even need Conquest just download the editor here save the file as a civ3Conquest map then convert
     

Share This Page