Is there any way to transfer food?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by pi4t, May 24, 2013.

  1. pi4t

    pi4t Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Gender:
    Male
    One thing which has always slightly irritated me about Civilisation is that while gold is collectively pooled, and that can to an extent be used to hurry production (plus with certain mods, including C2C, one can create merchants and suchlike to hurry production in other cities), it's impossible to move food from one city to another. That means one can specialise in production, or gold, but a city surrounded by highly productive mountains is never going to grow very large, even if you have a nearby city producing large surpluses of food, with little to do with the gain in population but set them as specialists. Does C2C add any way to have one city provide food to another, perhaps in the style of Master of Orion? (Essentially in that game, for those who don't know, you build 'freighters': ships which don't appear on the map, but can each transfer a set amount of food between planets per turn.)

    If it doesn't, then consider this a suggestion ;)

    EDIT: Oops, somehow I typed 'are' instead of 'any' in the title. Sorry about that, not sure how it happened :)
     
  2. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There are food caravans. They have not been released because
    - the AI does not know how to use them
    - the message when the food is delivered says 0 food but the correct amount is being delivered​

    You turn it on by going to Modules/DancingHoskuld/Custom_Units and editing the MLF file to change
    Code:
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Food_Merchants</Directory>
    					<bLoad>[B]0[/B]</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    
    to
    Code:
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Food_Merchants</Directory>
    					<bLoad>[B]1[/B]</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    
    BTW you can change the title of the post if yo edit the post and "Go Advanced"
     
  3. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Have you talked to Koshling about the AI use of these yet??
     
  4. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yes, it is on his list. He may have done it and I missed his notice.
     
  5. pi4t

    pi4t Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, thanks for the information! I won't turn it on if the ai can't use it yet, though. I think I've gained enough of an advantage over the ai by playing for an era and a half on Settler without realising it. Somehow it lost my difficulty (Prince), though it was probably my fault :)

    Obviously, it depends how much food they give, but won't they get a bit fiddly and micromanagement intensive later on in the game, though? Perhaps at some later technology (eg automotive transport) you could set up food to be delivered automatically at a rate per turn (as long as there's a path there)?
     
  6. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    The code to automate the food caravans is available and working.

    The idea of setting up a auto transfer of food or hammers to another city has not been discussed.
     
  7. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    JFYI DH, Orion has in his mod a Specialist and another unit that can do just about the same, i think one is just plain called the Farmer??
     

Share This Page