1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is there interest for a Civ3 DG?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Demo Game IV: Polls' started by Chieftess, Dec 24, 2008.

?

Are you interested in a Civ3 DG?

  1. Yes

    74.4%
  2. No

    25.6%
  1. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Answer yes or no.
     
  2. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    Hell, yeah. :thumbsup:
     
  3. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    I won't be able to stay away, but time will be an issue so no running for president for me this time...
     
  4. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    But... you were such a great President, Furiey... :sad:
     
  5. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,907
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    Not a 100% sure if it's feasible for me to run Civ3 on a 64-bit Vista.
     
  6. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    I do hope it is as my next PC will probably be that...

    And thank's Cyc!
     
  7. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,907
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    If not, we can always hit the tech forums for Civ3 and see how other Vista 64 users tackled the problem.

    However, I have yet to see any documentation or running Civ3 in windowed mode. The reason for me is that I have a widescreen monitor and games that run on full mode tend to look short and fat like someone sat on poor old Civ3.
     
  8. Falcon02

    Falcon02 General

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,100
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I might have to try getting active again if we try another Civ 3 game

    The Civ IV demogames never really had the right feel for me for some reason...
     
  9. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Did you see my other post?

    Download Microsoft Virtual PC 2007.
    Install Windows XP onto the Virtual PC.
    Install Civ3 onto the Virtual PC.
    Start Civ3 and enjoy full screen Civ3 in a window (virtual PC).

    :)

    (The Virtual PC window can be adjusted, too)
     
  10. GeneralArkady

    GeneralArkady Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Hey there, sounds good!

    Also, on the note of installing Civ3 on your PC, if Virtual PC doesnt work, you can always install XP on a different partition, and dual boot your PC. My uncle has the same set up, and it works extremely well.
     
  11. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,907
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    The only problem would be, if you dont have a Windows XP (or older Windows OS that supports Civ3) installation disk.
     
  12. ravensfire

    ravensfire Member of the Opposition

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,281
    Location:
    Gateway to the West
    Pretty much my thoughts.

    -- Ravensfire
     
  13. Falcon02

    Falcon02 General

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,100
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Depending on interest levels it might actually be practical to have both a Civ 3 Democracy Game and a Civ 4 Democracy game simultaneously.

    Population may be reduced, but it seems there are several players (myself included) interested exclusively in one or the other.

    If it's only Civ 4 I doubt I'll make much effort to get back in... if it's Civ 3 again I'll probobly give it another go.

    Yet there are others who might be interested in both, and thus might be torn between the two games if we were to have multiple games.

    Unfortunately though the two seperate polls we have here doesn't reflect that distribution very well :(

    A combined run off poll might be in order with options that would better allow a better gauge of who's interested only in one, and who's interested in both.

    Though we might be able to gather some statistics by just comparing how people voted among the two polls...
     
  14. ravensfire

    ravensfire Member of the Opposition

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,281
    Location:
    Gateway to the West
    What an excellent idea - I'll shamelessly steal it!

    -- Ravensfire
     
  15. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    27 YES votes, almost half of them Veterens.

    Where is the C3C DemoGame Revival Forum? There isn't even an Official Discussion for a Civ3 DG. Are the Mods going to set us up a Forum here? Or in the Civ3 Section?

    What's the plan?
     
  16. ravensfire

    ravensfire Member of the Opposition

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,281
    Location:
    Gateway to the West
    I think we should use this forum to organize both DG's. It's got the attention of people, so it makes the most sense.

    Absolutely should be in the Civ 3 and Civ 4 forums respectively once the games start though, with a stickied thread pointing to the other.

    -- Ravensfire
     

Share This Page