Is this mod compatible with Mac OSX?

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by DocRockwell, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. DocRockwell

    DocRockwell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Title says it all. Setting up my laptop with some games, wondering if I can run this mod on Mac, provided all the DLC requirements are met.

    Cheers
     
  2. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    7,371
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    No. It's stated in install requirements. Wine for Linux might work, though.
     
  3. DocRockwell

    DocRockwell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Ok, thanks.
     
  4. vyyt

    vyyt Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,347
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Yeah, there are people playing VP on Macs using this Windows emulators.
     
  5. Starrynite120

    Starrynite120 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    472
    I play using boot camp to run Windows 10, but it will never work on a Mac operating system.
     
  6. DocRockwell

    DocRockwell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    I do have a windows virtual machine installed. Should I just install steam and Civ5 via Windows and do it all in there?
     
  7. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,867
    Yes that's it. However, VM can be quite slow, so I would rather advise you to make a dual boot if you like this mod (except if your computer is powerful enough to run Civ in a VM without lags)
     
  8. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    7,371
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Mine is not powerful enough to run VP without lags... in Windows. XD
    Indeed, I purchased a solid state disk just to improve loading time (which it did).
     
  9. DocRockwell

    DocRockwell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Well, got it set up and running on a Windows 10 parallel desktop. Seems to run smoothly so far, but haven't tried a full game with lots of units and stuff. Got a fairly decent laptop, ~2015 macbook pro, 2.2 GHz i7 with Intel Iris Pro integrated graphics and 16 gb of ram.

    Why doesn't the mod work on OSx? I know the App Store distribution of Civ V was messed up for modding, but the Steam version doesn't work either? I just set up Kerbal Space Program on my macbook and installed a ton of mods that have .dll plugins to run their own code and that works fine. Wondering why mods for some games are compatible across Windows/OSx but not others.
     
  10. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    7,371
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    The base mod,CP, uses some LUA code that only works for MSWindows.
     
  11. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,867
    It is Civ's fault. In order to make any "big" mods, you're forced to use .DLL files, and they are Windows only files. KSP make some clever things to be able to run .dll on Mac, but Civ 5 doesn't.
    (And Civ 5 is VERY restrictive about what kind of files you're allowed to use in your mods, so you cannot avoid this problem)
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017
    vyyt likes this.
  12. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,280
    Location:
    Venice, California
    This is technically a necro, but seems specialized enough that I'll apologize ahead of time and plunge in...

    I am getting a refurbished Mac Book Pro (for $100!), and intend to partition it so as to play Vox Pop on Windows 10 (or aVM) with it. I have the option to increase the RAM to16GB and install a big SSD. The prices are cheap enough that my only goal is optimizing it (as a Mac and virtual PC).

    Does anyone here have recommendations, specifically for the PC partition? And given what recommendations you do make, am I better off with 10 or a VM?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  13. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,330
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    I use a Mac for work. I had it partitioned for a long time, only recently undid it. Boot camp + windows 10 is very stable. The only down side is driver support is a bit slow. Shouldn’t matter for civ 5.

    G
     
  14. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,280
    Location:
    Venice, California
    Great, thanks. I only intend to use the partition for Civ 5.
     
  15. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,330
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    I approve of your dedication.

    G
     
    vyyt and Txurce like this.

Share This Page