1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

it just ain't right

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by pinkishkittny, Aug 1, 2014.

  1. pinkishkittny

    pinkishkittny Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    There are some things that make me consider a game a failure even if I am top dog. Does anyone else feel like this?

    Examples - I am a failure if:
    - I have lots of desert and I don't get Petra
    - I am Islam and I don't get Djenne
    - I am France and I don't get Notre Dame
    (there are others but you get the idea)
     
  2. asura_

    asura_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    USA
    I consider every game a win if ... I win :lol:
     
  3. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,225
    Gender:
    Male
    My game is a failure in domination victory if I don't have a capital by the atomic era. A game is a failure in diplomatic victory if another civilization keeps taking away my city state allies.
     
  4. wydon

    wydon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    NC after turn 100
     
  5. TheSovereignGra

    TheSovereignGra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    I'm playing as the Maya and I don't get Chichen Itza built in the city of Chichen Itza.
     
  6. pinkishkittny

    pinkishkittny Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    That I will add to my must do list :)
     
  7. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,225
    Gender:
    Male
    I had a few more fails..
    - My spy got killed as he was about to steal a technology and had a killed in action.. how humiliating because spies take time to regenerate.
    - A barbarian plunders my trade route..
     
  8. docbud

    docbud Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    ^^The barbarians plundering trade routes is a pain in the butt.

    I had one game where my cargo ships kept getting plundered. The camp ended up being right off the coast of the AI I was trading with. You'd think they'd take care of their own barbs and barb ships. But no--I had to. I had to make a massive navy.

    So far as considering a game a failure--when I'm playing as England and there is not one single piece of iron on my continent.
     
  9. docbud

    docbud Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Sorry for double-posting--but it's a failure when my capital is STARVING on turn 14 on epic speed.

    How in the heck can it be starving that early?

    I haven't even had a chance to build anything.
     
  10. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Did you get a free pop ruin or two? That can cause starvation quite early, particularly if you are surrounded by plains and hills.
     
  11. docbud

    docbud Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    ^^^I did hit a ruin for a new citizen.

    That was right after I popped a ruin for "pottery" with ONE turn to go researching it.

    Talk about a waste of time.
     
  12. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    You're in the Modern Era and an Ancient/Classical/Medieval wonder hasn't been built by the AI so you say "I'll have a piece of that" and you get beaten to it by 1 turn.......
     

Share This Page