JFD's Rise to Power

Rise to Power

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WoodenThrone

    WoodenThrone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    I didn't double click it though. When I selected open file, clicked on the mp3, and clicked open, it automatically opens Media Player. Am I using an old version or anything? I did try to open it with Binary Editor but there's no option on the properties.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 9, 2018
  2. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,083
    You'll want an mp3 rather than a wav, but the main issue there is the fact that your solution doesn't actually have a project :/

    When you click New Mod, it should give you a menu to create a civ 5 mod project.

    You don't want to be opening the file at all; you just click on it once to bring up the Properties panel, which when the file's in a project should then have the VFS option.
     
  3. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,373
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi

    Is there a place where I can read about the different features of Rtp, i.e. governments, sovereignty, legitimacy, legislatures, faction power, ...? It's a lot to learn if it's just trial and error :help:

    I'm using the old version, JFD posted a few pages back (Cul Div v13 and RtP v34) but I'm guessing I could learn much from a description of the newer version anyway - if I could find one!

    Btw I'm playing it with VP enabled too (had to tweak some things) and so far I'm enjoying it. Only just made it the classical age however so I'm just about to form my first government. Guess I'll try Republic as I'm playing the Romans :yeah:

    Good job on the mod! :cheers:

    \Skodkim
     
  4. WoodenThrone

    WoodenThrone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Ah so I need to create a mod project! I tried it and was able to add the mp3 file and turned VFS to true. My apologies, this is my first time even touching Modbuddy and only summarized the guides.

    EDIT: So I did the following steps.

    1. Created a mod project.
    2. Imported Audio.sql and the mp3 file to said project.
    3. Added the code for the Audio Sounds, then added code for the 2D Audio (I copy-pasted then edited a few things like numbering.) in the XML.
    4. Enabled true for the VFS option for Audio.sql, then the mp3 file
    5. Updated the Sql in the Actions tab, then saved the file.
    6. Went to the Mod files in Firaxis Modbuddy folder and copied the edited Audio.sql and mp3 file.
    7. Went to the Soundtrack folder and replaced the Audio.sql file with the edited one, then copy pasted the mp3 file in its Culture folder. (OogwayAscends in Oriental).
    8. Tested the mod.

    Are there any steps I'm missing or doing wrong since I wasn't able to hear my music no matter how much I skip in game? Again, I apologize for making a fuss over this.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2018
  5. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,083
    The Civilopedia will probably be the best source of information; anything external is likely to be outdated.
     
  6. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,373
    Location:
    Denmark
    Already tried that but I haven't found any explanation of the mechanics, only wonders, policies, etc

    \Skodkim
     
  7. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,131
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
  8. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,373
    Location:
    Denmark
    In the pedia?

    Add said I'm playing the OLD version you posted some while ago and there's nothing in the issue afaik.

    I took the decision that gives a free reform but I can't choose any because my sovereignty is to low (?) and I'm not sure how I increase it. Therefore I hoped there was some kind of info I'm on concepts somewhere.

    \Skodkim
     
  9. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,131
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    I mean, can you really expect a non-descript old version to be supported - there have been 57 old versions :p There isn't really enough documentation. One man team has its downsides :/ ~~chrisys a gril u c~~
     
  10. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,373
    Location:
    Denmark
    I don't expect it to be supported! Read what I wrote initially.

    What I was looking for was just a description of the current version as I guess that could help me some of the way. I never asked for a description of the old version.

    \Skodkim
     
  11. SLGray

    SLGray King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    998
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Sates
    The information is in the civipedia. You will have to install the newest version.

    Also you can checkout the first post and click the links to his Wikia and Discord.
     
  12. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,083
    You get Sovereignty by fulfilling Legitimacies. The default is Might, which requires a Garrison in all Cities; the other two base ones are Wisdom (Specialist in all Cities) and Wealth (All Cities connected to the Capital).

    And even if you can't use the latest version for w/e reason, when everyone says that the only reliable source of info is its pedia you could always download the mod and just read the pedia in its files...
     
  13. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,373
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thanks! That helps me some out the way.

    For the record it was never my intention to ask for support or anything of an old version. I just knew that version didn't have the info in the pedia so I asked if there was anywhere else it could be found (I can't find it on the wiki, discord,...). But I'm sorry if I caused a stir.

    \Skodkim
     
  14. SLGray

    SLGray King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    998
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Sates
    The old versions did have some information in the pedia.
     
  15. Zooasaurus

    Zooasaurus Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sidoarjo, Indonesia
    Just to make sure, there has been no new updates right?
     
  16. carriontrooper

    carriontrooper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    14
  17. Ravellion

    Ravellion Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    597
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Alright, played another game on Emperor, this time with the Dutch. I won culturally. Once again, thoroughly enjoyable, and great that the stability is there to complete full games! Love it! Though I now noticed a few things that were odd, gameplay wise. I mostly played with all user settings to default except I had the user setting switched on that makes pre-industrial buildings neither require nor supply power (I think next game I'll switch that back on too). A few remarks:

    • With civ 4 diplomatic features, without research agreements as is default, the rationalism policy and the porcelain tower still give bonuses to research agreements.
    • With Sukritact's Suzereinty switched on, Jerusalem's bonus (1 extra spread for prophets spawned while suzerain) has no effect, as prophets no longer have spreads.
    • The AI does not understand that prophets do not have spreads, and will send them to other civs.
    • Hydropower seems a bit too efficient. 1 aluminium gives 3 power via the hydro plant, plus a lot of production, whereas coal and oil plants require 2 to give 2, giving only a bit of production and some unfortunate unhealthiness as well. It really seems that the best way to get that very important power is rivers with hydro plants (though you'll need some coal plants eventually as well, the build preference seems to be a bit off from history).
    • The AI vastly undervalues the acquisition of great works and the building of archaeologists. The best AI had 14 tourism. I had 2155. This made my ideology dominant, further boosting my cultural victory. There were still 25 antiquity sites not yet excavated in turn 375 (information era, 1955, normal speed).
    • I think the AI might need a slight bonus to its anarchy sentiment and/or its loyalty. Up until the Enlightenment era I had trouble keeping up with Neo-Babylon, but a combination of rioting cities and reforms costing a few turns of anarchy for them made me surpass them. If I play on immortal, the AI might build a few more buildings, thereby solving that problem, so, that might be worth a shot. Still, as the AI was competitive till the Enlightenment Era, I would prefer not giving them more bonuses up to that point.
     
  18. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,131
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    2 and 3 have been looked at for the next version. I've taken a deeper look at Suz. and in fact intend to add two new City-State types :p And other inconsistencies with Prophets I've caught onto now.

    1. defo something I will look at. Wondering if its a base Civ IV diplo thing since I don't touch those :thinking:

    4. Will take that into consideration, thanks.

    5. Hrm, not sure if I could've done anything to affect that. JFDLC being lua-based mostly unaffects the AI unless intended (through making manual decisions for them), but I'll keep an eye on it in my tests.

    6. Will also keep this in mind.

    Churs for the feedback.

    What's the incompatibility like?

    Not publicy no. Some versions go through beta testing first. But atm Rise and Fall, a total re-coding of JFDLC, and upcoming Uni are slowing things down a bit.
     
  19. carriontrooper

    carriontrooper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    It conflicts with the ExCE corporations, resulting in a CTD with some log lines about duplicate corporation tables. Gonna have to re-download and re-install Vox Pop and JFDDLC anyways - all of the mod's graphical elements got wonked up, tech tree showing nothing, and I can't choose production, hereby softlocking me out of the turn. database.log and lua.log in one zip coming up.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/m25lexoj4lwghak/logs.zip?dl=0
     
  20. Fijo

    Fijo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Im having crash to desktop. "
    [37334.750] Runtime Error: C:\Users\Win7\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\JFDLC\JFDLC (8) - JFD's Rise to Power\JFDLC Shared\Lua\UI\Overrides\Trade Routes\TradeRouteOverview.lua:601: attempt to call method 'GetNumDiseaseFromTradeRoute' (a nil value)
    [37334.750] Runtime Error: Error loading C:\Users\Win7\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\JFDLC\JFDLC (8) - JFD's Rise to Power\JFDLC Shared\Lua\UI\Overrides\Trade Routes\TradeRouteOverview.lua.". Is this error crashing my game? How i can fix it?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page