1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Jotnar - Giant Civ for Fall from Heaven. Download Here.

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by Arctic Circle, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. VSPavlov

    VSPavlov Wizard of the Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Duplication of Warrens mechanics? I suppose, it's somehow unsuitable thematically.
     
  2. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Eh, I don't think it would be unsuitable for thematic purposes... I mean, they're supposed to represent the 'lesser' races living among the Giants, right? Kinda fits for them to breed like rodents. On the other hand, I think it's too close to the Warrens mechanic.... Plus, it takes the 20% 'refund' and makes it a 40% one...
     
  3. VSPavlov

    VSPavlov Wizard of the Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    I suppose, they DO breed like rodents - from the point of view of Giants. Which makes them quite normal at scale of other "lesser" races :)
     
  4. Arctic Circle

    Arctic Circle Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Burning the midnight oil here. Jotnar slave I solved with:
    Code:
    		<PromotionInfo>		
    			<Type>PROMOTION_JOT_CONVERT</Type>
    			<Description>Jotnar Slave</Description>
    			<PromotionPrereq>PROMOTION_JOT_GIANTKIN</PromotionPrereq>
    			<bAutoAcquire>1</bAutoAcquire>
    			<bNoXP>1</bNoXP>
    			<PrereqUnits>
    				<PrereqUnit>UNIT_SLAVE</PrereqUnit>
    			</PrereqUnits>
    			<UnitCombats>
    				<UnitCombat>
    					<UnitCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_WORKER</UnitCombatType>
    					<bUnitCombat>1</bUnitCombat>
    				</UnitCombat>
    			</UnitCombats>
    			<Button>Art/Civs/Jotnar/buttons/jot_traditions.dds</Button>
    			<iWorkRateModify>30</iWorkRateModify>
    			<UnitArtStyleType>UNIT_ARTSTYLE_JOTNAR</UnitArtStyleType>
    			<PromotionNextLevel>NONE</PromotionNextLevel>
    			<iExtraCombatDefense>2</iExtraCombatDefense>
    		</PromotionInfo>
     
  5. Deon

    Deon Lt. of Mordor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,956
    Location:
    St.Petersburg, Russian Federation
    Oh. It's 2:20 AM here already... I am still waiting :).
     
  6. Arctic Circle

    Arctic Circle Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    The bug where everything crashed when doing mouse-over on the promotion is solved by removing the unitreq tag on the promotion.. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Arctic Circle

    Arctic Circle Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Sooo tired right now, think all is fixed, zipfile is set in the first post on this thread. Have fun.

    :sleep::sleep::sleep::sleep::sleep::sleep:
     
  8. Iceciro

    Iceciro Special Ability: Decimate

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,944
    Location:
    in ur empire, takin ur cities
    *snag!* Awesome AC, awesome. I have a very busy night tonight!
     
  9. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Woot, been waiting on this. :goodjob:

    Gonna have to go release a compatible Malakim+.... ;)
     
  10. Deon

    Deon Lt. of Mordor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,956
    Location:
    St.Petersburg, Russian Federation
    Aaaah 4:20 here! No sleep! No sleep...
    *Runs to play*

    Wait, where do I get FF 043f? I thought you were making it for 050 :)
     
  11. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Might have come across a bug during my merging... Haven't been able to play yet, so I'm not sure if it will cause problems or not.

    Since FF uses decimal xp now, the places you use (unit.getExperience() + 10) should actually be (unit.getExperienceTimes100()/100 + 10). It may end up causing problems, seeing as in the worldbuilder the 2400 xp is actually 24 in game... You'll either return something much smaller than it should be, or much larger.

    Edit: Looks like this was done using an older FF patch, as well. Having to merge a LOT of changes to the Scions lol.
     
  12. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Got a python error in CvRandomEventInterface.py. Popped up when I assume I was supposed to receive a Jotnar unit... Can't test for sure, as I play with locked games. :blush:

    newUnit = iPlayer.ynitUnit(yUnit, cCity.getX(), cCity.getY(), UnitAITypes.NO_UNITAI, DirectionTypes.DIRECTION_NORTH)

    I'm relatively sure that ynitUnit needs to be initUnit... yUnit should still work as it was defined in the line above.

    Edit: Still getting the crash... Should it be pPlayer rather than iPlayer? It's the way newUnit is used to generate Manes.
     
  13. 25Hour

    25Hour Some sort of lemur

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Could work to make them goblins-- that way, it'd make sense for them to be cheaper and weaker than normal warriors. Plus, you wouldn't even have to change the name; Thrall Militia could just as easily be a bunch of goblins serving the giants rather than humans. It'd also tie in with the Orc Conscripts the Jotnar get later on.
     
  14. Deon

    Deon Lt. of Mordor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,956
    Location:
    St.Petersburg, Russian Federation
    Well, you haven't answered yet, where to get 043f? :)
     
  15. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Just answered you in the Malakim thread. ;)

    Personally, as much as I'd like to play this I'd wait till Arctic Circle fixes a few things... needs to be updated to the current patch, for one thing. None of the civs have their civ yields enabled. Likewise, most of the newer Scion changes are absent. Getting a python error too, but that may have been an artifact of my merge... Trying a fresh install.

    Edit: Nope, still getting it....... Something in doJotSearchForLostChildren seems to be broken. It's referring to
    Code:
    newUnit = iPlayer.ynitUnit(yUnit, cCity.getX(), cCity.getY(), UnitAITypes.NO_UNITAI, DirectionTypes.DIRECTION_NORTH) 
    I'd give you the line number, but the only one I remember is from my merge with my code. :blush:
     
  16. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Running on patch J, the jotnar version won't start for me. Gives me 3 xml errors on start.

    They seem to be 3 missing promotions. Super Schmoozer, from one of pelemoc's spells. And the normal and greater Textus spider promos. They just weren't there in the jotnar promo info.
     
  17. Arctic Circle

    Arctic Circle Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Ok, I'm gonna look at these issues. Its not going to happen this week. Taking it down for now.

    But I can tell you that I built Jotnar on the latest Fall Further. I was in the Fall Further 050 folder. If anything I might have missed the latest FF patch.

    Where do you get 043 from?
     
  18. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    hmm, actually, ALL the spider promos are missing.
    I suspect it was based on an outdated FF version.


    I'm making a hamhanded attempt to fix these errors and get it working. Will post the files if I do.
     
  19. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ok, I fixed it. Was just the missing promos.

    I haven't done anything with the python though, so the other bugs mentioned above will still be there, but at least it loads on patch J now.

    Also, a bug report already

    the leader info for all jotnar leaders says

    "World Spell:Unique units: etc...."

    There's no text, or even a linebreak, for the world spell. Do they have one?
     

    Attached Files:

  20. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Is it intended that I can upgrade a jotnar Citizen into a wild troll, right from the start ?

    Oh wow, a str4, hidden nationality, regenerating, mountain crossing unit, on turn 16.
    I take back anything I ever said about them being underpowered.
     

Share This Page