Jotnar

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Wolfes, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Wolfes

    Wolfes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Sorsele
    How do i get a jotnar settler in roe 1.12? I had 200 gold in a huge map, epic speed and diff noble, but i didn´t get a button to upgrade.
    already fixed.
     
  2. bardliam

    bardliam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Fixed how? I'm having the same problem.
     
  3. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    You can't get Jotnar Settlers in 1.12.

    Your only methods of expansion are to build a fort (Fort Commanders gain the ability to convert the fort to a city at level 5), or conquer.

    This may be changed next version. ;)
     
  4. bardliam

    bardliam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    An of course that's bugged. Which means for now, you only get 1 city as the Jotnar. That was a waste of 3 hours.
     
  5. Monkeyfinger

    Monkeyfinger Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    Ninja: Jotnar FCs can build cities, but they need to be L7, not L5.

    The unique Jotnar wonders (seasonal halls) have the "act as an extra capital" effect, but it doesn't do anything for the Jotnar because it only affects distance maintenance, which the Jotnar are immune to anyway. It doesn't take any slack off their heavy # of cities maint costs. Working as intended?
     
  6. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Probably a hold over from an older setup, actually. IIRC, they also provide mana so they aren't useless. :lol:

    I'll look into the Fort Commanders. It was originally level 5... Maybe Vermicious changed it and I didn't catch it?
     
  7. odalrick

    odalrick Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,114
    I think they are bonus palaces so that you can only have one in each city.
     
  8. Vermicious Knid

    Vermicious Knid King

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Correct on the level req. :goodjob:


    The extra capital effect is a very simple way of blocking multiple halls being built in the same city. Could also be done with an unwieldy snarl of python...but since it works as is I haven't seen a need.
     
  9. Monkeyfinger

    Monkeyfinger Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    What does Wisdom of the Ancients actually do?

    I have blasting powder and a few stonekin giants over 100 years old, but they can't seem to become bergrisars (high end earth kindred). Missing something, or bug? Save attached, they're in Grottiburg.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Vermicious Knid

    Vermicious Knid King

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    782

    Wisdom of the Ancients doubles the XP of every unit with race: Giantkin. Expect to be selecting a lot of promotions after you cast it. :)


    I'll look at the requirements for Bergrisar after work. I think it is 200 years old, not 100.
     
  11. Monkeyfinger

    Monkeyfinger Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    Wait, I see the problem. It's not a free promotion, you have to level up to buy it.

    Age req is 100 but it's not fully effective until age 200.
     
  12. bardliam

    bardliam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Getting back to the FC's, I have one I've leveled to 8 but no option to make the fort into a city... Also, on a game balance note, FC's get .5 xp per turn, which means if you immediately on turn 1 send your citizens to go build a fort, it'll be past turn 100 before you get your first additional city? Unless you conquer one?
     
  13. sylvain5477

    sylvain5477 Cerebrus father

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    How do you build Egrass ? (I have KotE but still not buildable)
     
  14. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    He's bugged atm, and not buildable. Will be fixed.
     
  15. sylvain5477

    sylvain5477 Cerebrus father

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    I see :)
    Guess the same for the world spell :p
     
  16. Monkeyfinger

    Monkeyfinger Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    World spell works.
     
  17. Vermicious Knid

    Vermicious Knid King

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    World spell works fine...you just need Education to cast it.


    It is stronger if you wait until mid-to-late game. :D
     
  18. Vermicious Knid

    Vermicious Knid King

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    782

    Fixed in my internal version.
     
  19. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Figured it would be. :lol:
     
  20. sylvain5477

    sylvain5477 Cerebrus father

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Its help says it requires a chislev only building... :)
    I must be missing something here.
     

Share This Page