1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Just checking what I'm doing to update...

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Legends of Revolution' started by zoiks, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. zoiks

    zoiks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    I've been through a few mods that have crashed on me when getting into the industrial era, leading to a lot of installing and uninstalling to troubleshoot on both XP and Vista before finally giving up...but not this one, it's excellent and even though I only found it a few weeks back, I'm impressed and delighted.

    So before I update (as I'm so happy with how the older version and 3.17 are going I'm quite tempted to leave things as they are) I just wanted to check and save myself more frustration. Can I update to 3.19 and then to the newest LoR without uninstalling the old LoR? Or could this potentially cause problems?
     
  2. achilleszero

    achilleszero Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS USA
    If you update to 3.19 then you would not be able to play the old version of LoR. You can keep it around but you would have to reinstall BtS to get back to3.17 just to play it.
     
  3. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    Actually the installer will automatically remove any old version of LoR. This is to make sure there are no conflicting files, it makes updating much simpler for the user (no complex isntructions, everything is automatic). There really wouldn't be any reason to leave around LoR 0.8 though, since it's not compatible with BtS 3.19, once you patch BtS you'll need to update to LoR 0.9 in order to play it.
     
  4. achilleszero

    achilleszero Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS USA
    Are you sure it removes old versions? Or does it just remove pre v.0.9 LoR's. The LoR test is still on my desktop and all the files are still there.
     
  5. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    LoR != LoRtest

    That's why I created the LoRtest version, it's for dev testing so the official release and test version wol't effect each other. Once a new dev version is up, it'll replace the old version of LoRtest when installing, just like how New official updates of LoR replace older official updates. Try installing LoR again, it'll remove any version of LoR it finds on the computer before continuing with the installation.
     

Share This Page