1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Just found out how to control a puppet state's build...

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by de_baser, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. de_baser

    de_baser Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Hey, longtime player and lurker, first time poster.

    Just bought GK for a nice boost to my play motivation recently, and it's been great fun. However, i found out last night in rather random ways that i can actually go in and control what a puppeted city is building, that is if, it has the "fire upon enemy" notification up.

    Firstly, access any normal city's build screen. Go to the list of build options on the left.
    (It is possible that this is only the menu accessible through "choose production")
    Then, while there, click the red notification for the defending puppet state on the right.
    You'll zoom to the puppet city. Click the firing button, bringing up the firing radius, turning your cursor red.
    - The build list will now change to that within the puppet state. Choose freely.

    This trick/bug does not grant control over citizens, purchasing or anything, only what is currently being built. I had no oppurtunity if it gives you the ability to queue up production, but i imagine it would.

    Couldn't find this listed in the bug section or if this is known. At work currently, travelling and not able to double check. If you have the oppurtunity to explore, please confirm this.

    Thanks! And hello.
     
  2. ense7en

    ense7en n7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    995
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    This is very clearly not an intentional "feature".

    An interesting bug indeed though. :mischief:
     
  3. de_baser

    de_baser Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Obviously!

    It does come in handy when you don't want to waste culture/happiness by annexing a city you really need to build something in - for example, walls or happiness buildings or whatever. Especially useful if you need a puppeted city on another island to build a harbor in order to connect trade routes.

    anyway, quite a minor exploitable bug. Would be great to know if people are already aware of this one, though.
     
  4. Mesix

    Mesix One of Porg

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,375
    Location:
    Ahch-To
    Can this bug/feature be used to get puppets to produce units? Can you toggle from produce to buy and rush buy units/walls in a newly puppeted city?
     
  5. kamex

    kamex Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    UK
    New to me! Cool find! :)
     
  6. Kark

    Kark Mad berserker

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Nidaros, Norway. Viking capital.
    Yes.

    No.
     
  7. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Nice find! Can someone post a save file that illustrates this issue?

    I'll move the thread to the Bug Reports forum.

    Moderator Action: Moved to the Bug Reports forum.
     
  8. Kark

    Kark Mad berserker

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Nidaros, Norway. Viking capital.
    Yes, it seems so.
     
  9. Question

    Question King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    945
    What red notification are you referring to?
     

Share This Page