1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Just purchased BTS, do I need to patch RTW?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Road to War' started by Lord Baal, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. Lord Baal

    Lord Baal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,291
    Location:
    Canaan
    First time I've started a thread in a long time.

    I've just recently purchased Civ IV Complete. I came here to get a few tip/ strategies for playing the RTW 1936 Europe mod - I played it for the first time two days ago, but only for a few hours, as Germany - only to find that it seems far more complicated than I had originally thought. So I just wanted a little guidance as to whether I need to download any patches or not to play the game effectively.

    Alright, I have the version that came with Civ IV Complete. I don't have it actually sitting in front of me right now, so if kiwitt, Dale or anyone else needs more information than that to help me out I'll get it for you later. I was playing Open Play with Germany, and seemed to be having a few problems with newly-conquered cities - specifically Eastern Polish cities - being completely surrounded by a non-belligerent nation's - the USSR - culture, meaning that the one tank I had in Pinsk when I took it is now trapped there. Pinsk had not finished resisting before I was forced to close down my game and go to bed though, so I don't know if this issue will correct itself. I've also noticed many people referring to Czechoslovakia and Austria in posts here, but I don't have either on my game. Were they added in a patch, or are they referring to another of the several RTW mods?

    Basically, my main issue is difficulty in separating which comments on this forum are relating to which version of the mod, and whether or not my game will need patching. I also don't really want to wade through any more of this forum than I already have until someone can help me at least narrow down my issues. Thank you.
     
  2. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,547
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    The game works best as "Historical" option.
     
  3. Lord Baal

    Lord Baal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,291
    Location:
    Canaan
    I've started a new game using the historical option, actually. I'm playing as Germany, but am only midway through 1938 so far, so nothing's happened.
     
  4. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,547
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    You'll soon be absorbing Austria and Czechoslovakia.
     

Share This Page