1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

King of the Netherlands wins an economic victory?

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Age of Discovery II' started by Gherkin, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. Gherkin

    Gherkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Ok, playing 1.09b, revolutionary level. I was playing the Dutch. The revolution had not even begun yet (I was gearing up for it), and I get a message saying the King of the Netherlands had won an economic victory. Maybe I'm missing something, but how does that fit into the game mechanics? I trade too much and the King wins?

    The tax rate was about 75%, year 1686 or so. I had accumulated about $60,000.

    Seems like an odd way to lose a game.
     
  2. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Yeah there seems to be a bug where your King's trade amount is heavily inflated. Confirmed.
     
  3. Aerion

    Aerion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    This happened to me with the King of England. Will this bug fix be in 1.10?

    Also, what is the criteria for a king to win an Economic Victory? Or more correctly, what is SUPPOSED to be the criteria?
     
  4. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    The main one is that, you aren't a King!
     
  5. PrinzMyshkin

    PrinzMyshkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Antarctica
    So can a King score an economic victory? Is that intended?
     
  6. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    See post above. :)
     
  7. PrinzMyshkin

    PrinzMyshkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Antarctica
    LoLoLoLoL I thought the King could only score a Europe VC... :p
     
  8. Aerion

    Aerion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    If that's the case, then presumably, there is a deadline or some other criteria involved? Otherwise, the king has already won on the first turn.
     
  9. PrinzMyshkin

    PrinzMyshkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Antarctica
    I think he means King wasn't supposed to do this.
     
  10. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    The question was "what are the criteria for a King scoring an economic victory?"

    The answer is clearly "to not be a King". :p
     
  11. PrinzMyshkin

    PrinzMyshkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Antarctica
    Sounds like the criteria to score an eco. win, is not to be a King...

    So, he can't or better shouldn't achieve it...

    Clear as mud. :p
     
  12. Aerion

    Aerion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    *sigh* Sorry I asked.

    I guess I'm completely stupid, but I don't see how you've answered my question.
     
  13. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    It's a bug. A King is not supposed to trigger an eco (or production) victory.
     
  14. PrinzMyshkin

    PrinzMyshkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Antarctica
    Thanks :)

    What about pirate plunder?

    Just pulling your leg. ;)
     
  15. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Fixed for 1.10
     
  16. Cela

    Cela Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Ha ha. Fist of all thanks for the Mod, i downloaed it a few days ago and started a game in which my king won by an economic victory.

    I was frustrated and was going to open a post about this. Good to see it has been corrected.

    Thanks for the mod again.
     

Share This Page