Labor Day

Mr.WorldWide

Smugly Inferior
So once again we celebrate a self appointed government holiday which mostly benefits (surprise, surprise) the government worker.

My birthday is sometimes on labor day, so I deserve the day off regardless. :mischief:

2/10 5chars

Did you have something you wanted to discuss in particular?

I agree it should be on May 1.

I get Labor Day off because I'm a laborer (in the general sense). I get Memorial Day off even though I didn't die in the uniformed service to my country. I don't get Veterans Day off even though I am a veteran.

I wish they'd be more consistent about it.

I get Labor Day off because I'm a laborer (in the general sense). I get Memorial Day off even though I didn't die in the uniformed service to my country. I don't get Veterans Day off even though I am a veteran.

I wish they'd be more consistent about it.

You can be working class, and be guaranteed no day off.

Labor Day is an ersatz commemoration of the working man. Americans ought to celebrate it on the same day as the rest of the world on May 1st. The universal solidarity of the working man is the entire POINT.

Labor Day is a phoney-bologna holiday invented by fat-cat union gangsters.

We don't have it on May 1st over here, either.

Echoing the "may first or gtfo" sentiment, especially given that the damn thing was an American invention to start with.