This thread will be an attempt to illustrate and outline all the ways to abuse the Land Target Rule that have been discovered so far. I've been looking for a comprehensive thread about the little known "Land Target Rule" and can't find one anywhere, so I'm going to make one. Basically, a "Land Target" is when one civ shares an 8 tile land border with another civ. This affects things like begging amounts, ease of capitulation, ease of peace vassaling, how likely an AI will go to war with you, etc. etc. Here are the threads I've found mentioning it so far: Spoiler : http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=377568 http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=325529 http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=326312 (TMIT chain capitulation technique) http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=7190899&postcount=84 (DanF calls it LandTargets in his war calculations) http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=12041660&postcount=2744 (Begging Guide) http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=496586 (Begging Guide clarification) The absolute closest I've seen to someone pinning down "Land Target" is the thread where WastinTime blew away the competition in GMajor 134 using Peace Vassals to take over the world. http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=539468&highlight=land+target&page=5 Specifically, Pollina's post with the test games. Spoiler : Step 1) Verify you need an 8 tile border to trigger "Land Target" status with an AI. We'll start with Polina's save (2nd one) since it is the easiest way to check. (Using a begging technique, the save would have to be reloaded after every beg ) This will help us duplicate WastinTime's findings that 8 tiles is the trigger, water tiles don't count, and diagnal tiles do count. With Power Ratio at 1.7 in the scoreboard thanks to the BUG mod, if "Land Target" status is active, Hatshepsut will Peace Vassal. If "Land Target" is not active, Hatshepsut won't Peace Vassal. Spoiler : First, a smattering of different border configurations. All of these result in Hatshepsut being willing to Peace Vassal (valid Land Target) Spoiler : Then we take away one city from that 3rd picture and suddenly Hatshepsut won't Peace Vassal (not a Land Target) That means diagonals must count and that 8 tiles is the threshold. Spoiler : So far, so good. WastinTime's conclusion of 8 border tiles with diagonals counting looks valid. Now we will test the water tiles not counting. In this test, we seemingly have 8 tiles of border touching on both sides, but Hatty won't Peace Vassal. That means that water tiles don't count, again just like WastinTime said. Spoiler : Now we dig deeper. Does "Land Target" status require 8 land tiles of shared border on the human side? The AI side? Can a tile being touched on two sides count twice? MORE TESTING! In this test, the Human has 8 land tiles on the border and the AI has 7. Hatshepsut refuses to Vassal, and that means all kinds of things. 1) The number of human land tiles the AI touches with their land tiles does not matter. Hatshepsut is clearly touching 8 human land tiles and that isn't triggering Land Target status. 2) Hatshepsut's corner tile (#3) isn't counted twice. If it was, she would Peace Vassal. Spoiler : [/URL] Next, we switch things around with the Human having 7 land tiles on the border and the AI has 8. Hatshepsut will Peace Vassal. Spoiler : Finally, we have 3 Human Land tiles touching 8 AI tiles along the border. Hatshepsut will Peace Vassal. Spoiler : And to show that water tiles really don't count for this calculation, a slightly different configuation. Hatshepsut won't Peace Vassal. Spoiler : That should clear up all the confusion. Land Target - When a Civ is touching 8 neighbor's land tiles along their border with their own land tiles, the Neighbor Civ will consider them a valid LandTarget. (Diagonal is a valid direction for the purposes of touching. Water tiles don't count at all) DanF also mentions in D6 that a Land Target must also have a city on the same continent as an AI's capital. http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=7190899&postcount=84 So don't expect the Land Target techniques to work on an AI with a capital on an island somewhere unless you can plant your own city on that same island.