1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Landmarks

Discussion in 'Civ - Ideas & Suggestions' started by loco-newf, Apr 24, 2004.

1. loco-newf

loco-newf Chieftain

Yes, I know. Landmarks have been discussed before. But here's an idea...

I'm a builder and a culture buff. I LOVE to win with 20k culture. I beam with pride at my accomplishment. Having said that, I thought of a practical way to implement Landmarks.

If a civ wanted to make a particular game tile (mountain, lake, whatever) a Landmark, it could be done by allowing a city to dedicate so many turns of production towards it. In other words, BUILT IT! Maybe, once it was completed, it would generate an extra culture point per turn or become a tourist attraction over time...

2. Pook

Pook Bloviating

I missed the earlier thread. What exactly do you mean by a landmark? Is this something like Sydney Opera House or Mount Rushmore, something epic that's built by humans?

3. illphil

illphil uncreative

i dont really get the difference between these and wonders except maybe smaller scale.

4. Mewtarthio

Mewtarthio Emperor

By "landmarks" he refers to namable features of the map. And I think the first Civ to discover a feature should get naming rights. If another Civ manages to fully control it, that Civ should be able to rename it.

Back to the topic's main point, how is this any different from a culture-producing building?

5. akhicks

akhicks Chieftain

If the landmark is really impressive - say Grand Canyon or Angel Falls, or similar, then you could obviously get tourism from it. But also in the latter game environmental damage could limit or remove their worth.

6. loco-newf

loco-newf Chieftain