Laptop Specs Question

sbrylski06

Warlord
I'm looking at the: Sony Vaio S

13.3" VAIO Display with LED backlight (1366 x 768)
Intel® Core™ i7-2620M processor (2.70GHz) with Turbo Boost up to 3.40GHz
AMD Radeon™ HD 6630M (1GB VRAM)
8GB (4GBx2) DDR3-SDRAM-1333

My general question is... what would be the anticipated life span of this machine when it comes to gaming? Though Civ V will be the primary gaming application, I'm hoping to have the capability to play most games that come out within the next 3-4 years.

I'm no expert, and my research so far only tells me that this graphics setup should work just fine for today's software. What I can't discern is what kind of longevity I would be getting.

Any help is much appreciated.

When it comes to computers there is no standard for longevity. You can just look at it like, "how much fun have I missed, because I waited". If you can afford it, do it. If you can't afford it, then keep dreaming. However it is next to impossible to get ahead of the game. I have noticed though that Best Buy is trying to sale the idea that they will keep you "up to date", but that sounds more like a gimmick than reality. I also knew a guy who road the Sears warranty wave with a Packard Bell and they seemed to be so junky that he would receive the latest and greatest, until it broke down a year later, but that is a little chancy to me.