1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Larger Map Sizes

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Individual Components' started by Michael Flynn, Oct 23, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Michael Flynn

    Michael Flynn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    This small edit addresses the overly small map issues by adding three new sizes. The 'huge' map was set at 106x66. The three new sizes are:

    • Huger - 116x72
    • Massive - 128x80
    • Giant - 140x86

    I have tested all the sizes on single player and they all work on both a 2 year old i5 processor, although load times do get longer especially in later game, and a modern i7 where load times were only negligibly increased.

    I have also only tested them on continents, so if you use on other map modes the feedback would be appreciated.

    On the Giant map the game will sometimes crash during creation on the i5 (perhaps 1/5 times) but not at all the i7.

    You can download the files from Dropbox. Juat copy the base file over the base file in your Civ 6 Directory.

    Please let me know if you fancy trying bigger sizes. They are easy enough to add. Have fun!
     
    JamesDyk likes this.
  2. rkade8583

    rkade8583 Realism Invictus Player

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Washington
    Even though my toaster won't like it, I'll give these a go. Any chance you can turn this into a mod rather than a file replacement so the inevitable patching won't break it?

    Edit: 3 minute turns by turn 30. No thanks. When I get a not-toaster though, I'm grabbing this.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
  3. Brackenspore

    Brackenspore Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Can you make it as MOD? Rework to MOD.
     
  4. DDomenico

    DDomenico Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    It won't load, it just shows a map full of the fog of war.
     
  5. Baleur

    Baleur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    Agreed, please make it a mod-format so people can easily plug and play without having it replaced in eventual patches.
    Good job otherwise though, absolutely a musthave mod along with (hopefully) a new version of PerfectWorld, if that ever happens :)

    To resolve the turn timer somewhat you could make sure to only have the vanilla 12 civs (max on Huge) when using Advanced Setup before the game. 18 civs on the largest setting in this mod is quite a lot. Then again it might be the extra space for barbarians that cause the turn times to spiral.
     
  6. rkade8583

    rkade8583 Realism Invictus Player

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Washington
    It is. Those barbarians have rabbit blood in them.
     
  7. Cigoler

    Cigoler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I tried installing this but when I go to start a new game they aren't showing up as options in the drop down? Oops *edit* I didn't realise making a copy of the file and leaving it in the folder still ended up using it. my bad.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2016
  8. Arkenor

    Arkenor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    You've left some cut/paste changes in the data for Duel size in Mapsizes.xml.
     
  9. Valatros

    Valatros Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Anyone else using this notice a strange lack of barbarians on a Huger map, compared to a Huge? Doesn't seem to be scaling barbarians with available space.
     
  10. Enlightened Fox

    Enlightened Fox Civ 6 Addict - TB Mod Collaborator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm loving the work you guys have done, I really do a lot. bigger the map the better, the ability to set a script to allow 1 person per land mass be a real life saver, reloading a new map due to others on my land mass to early. I know there are other builders like myself out there who enjoy putting together a small empire before meeting other civs and going to war. That is just me, on civ 4 they made a script called Planet generator_68 that was highly configurable to the degree you could make it design any situation for you practically. If you guys know how that would be great and keep the barbarians flowing, need those promotions early on with warriors for later swordsmen.

    One other small issue is the scout on such large maps. Any of you guys know how to add in some sort of upgrades for the scout making him less weak during the later eras before ranger upgrade? If you max out promotions on a scout they rule, but until then they can be whacked by barbs pretty bad when the world is so large. Thanks keep up the great work and I realize you do not make units I am just stating it here. Hoping someone sees it and runs with it, I don't have any idea where to start besides reading how and that is a bit boring and tedious for a man with little patience. :lol:
     

Share This Page