1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Larger shores ?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Map Scripts' started by Alzzary, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. Alzzary

    Alzzary Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    hey there !

    I have been frustrated for some time now - well, for about 1'000 hours of play - that it's impossible to expand the shores. Right now, most maps only have shores 1 to 2 tiles wide. I would like to be able to set shores so that a city in the shore doesn't blocks you, or you can have naval combat in early game that isn't only about lining up ships in a straight line.

    Anyone knows a script able to do that ?

    Thank you !

    Alzzary
     
  2. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    under the weather
    Check Planet Simulator (bobert13)... it contains a routine that can vary coastal width according to user preference, along with other customization.

    There are some caveats with certain coastal settings. I'd suggest reading the comments in the script, specifically in function MapConstants:InitializeCoasts and function GenerateCoasts
     
  3. Scrum Lord

    Scrum Lord Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    One reason why most scripts have narrow (less than 3-tile) shores is that oil can be placed in shallow water. If you have wider shores, then you might have some unreachable oil, which I believe would reduce the amount of reachable oil on the map. So if you want wider shores, then you will have to re-balance the distribution of oil in water. See AssignStartingPlots: PlaceOilInTheSea() in AssignStartingPlots.lua.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017
  4. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    under the weather
    Yeah, perfect example.

    It's probably easier to address the problem via game rules, rather than widening coasts... the map scale isn't really friendly to wider coasts. Though a land adjacency or nearness check added to ASP would solve the resource issue.

    Alternative suggestions...

    - allow ships and/or recon class units to ignore borders (set RivalTerritiory=1)
    - allow ocean passage earlier
    - allow ocean passage, if the end tile is visible coast (see Community Patch dll)
    - move 'open borders' to an earlier tech
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017

Share This Page