1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Latest update killed direct IP connection

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by Aweather, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. Aweather

    Aweather Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    The direct IP connection option is missing after the lastest update. Does anyone know how to fix this? Any suggestions would be highly appreciated!
     
  2. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    They say that Direct IP is no more supported.
    I don't understand why not leave it even if "not supported"... :mad:
     
  3. Aweather

    Aweather Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    15

    Yeah, terrible decision... Now my PitBoss game is halted.

    I realized I can put the game up on "Internet games", but I don't know how to create a password protection from a saved game...
     
  4. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    It seems the most likely answer to why Direct IP was removed from the Steam version (not the CD version) is that there was some kind of legal agreement to give Steam control over all multiplayer functionality. Yes, it's nonsense.

    I've written this email to 2K.

     
  5. tagger2013

    tagger2013 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    This has also hosed my ability to play HOF or GOTM games any suggestions?
     
  6. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    I have also written to the 2K support.

    Do you know if the patch was forced also to the Steam Mac version of the game?
     
  7. da_Vinci

    da_Vinci Gypsy Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Are you getting error messages with the HOF mod since the update? I wondered if that would be a problem as I saw the files updating last night.

    dV
     
  8. da_Vinci

    da_Vinci Gypsy Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I am currently in a Civ 5 pitboss game and we log in by typing the IP address into the box at the bottom of the internet lobby of the Civ 5 pitboss screen.

    I have no idea if a similar approach can work for BTS pitboss via steam, or whether disk players could link up that way.

    dV
     
  9. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I have made a post in the official 2K forums about the removal of Direct IP from Steam versions of the game. Here it is:

    http://forums.2k.com/showthread.php?563191-Steam-multiplayer-update-and-Civilization-IV-Pitboss

    To everyone who plays in Direct IP games: Please take a minute to register an account, and make a short post in the thread linked above.

    I suggest to write in your short message:

    - Your username and which civ fansite(s) you hail from.
    - Which version of the game you purchased (CD or Steam).
    - Mention how this issue affects all players, because even CD users can't continue Direct IP games with Steam users. The removal of Direct IP from Steam divides an already small multiplayer community down the middle.
    - End with a strong request that Direct IP be re-integrated into the Steam version of Civ4.

    Feel free to use your own words. Be firm, but civil - profanity won't help the cause.

    For example, in my case:

    Please register an account and post your own quick message in the thread linked above now. It only takes a minute, and it could make a real difference! :)
     
  10. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    Posted. :goodjob:
     
  11. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
  12. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    I was able to restore DirectIp functionality in BtS for both the game and the PitBoss server following GermanJojo's post with some differences:

    1) Turn off auto-updates for Civ4 on Steam (Library-> right click on Civ 4 BtS -> Properties -> Updates -> Do not automatically update this game).

    2) Close Steam.

    3) Replaced following files from a not up to date version:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Civ4BeyondSword.exe
    (MD5: 8e7bccc61849d684bfbba44e9c9bc647 - SHA1: 541f9b20da74d2a94dc1d9b49bb9dd8116e6c72e)

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Civ4BeyondSword_PitBoss.exe
    (MD5: 018697e7197ae214e7ca7da3093f58e5 - SHA1: af5805d237430e8891cd34b1d94985222f4dd7a2)

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Assets\Python\PitBoss\PbWizard.py
    (MD5: 0537702ddbbb4649914db16e166894e6 - SHA1: 628968016d4ce29c0b0cd969888e3b7026ec641f)


    (It was not necessary to replace CvGameCoreDLL.dll.)

    4) Restart Steam and load the game.

    As reference my platform is Windows 7 x64.
    Be careful to don't mix Vanilla/Warlords/BtS files while you replace them.
     
  13. da_Vinci

    da_Vinci Gypsy Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,182
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    We are all converging on the same answer, with variations that differ by goal.

    fdelbene, I am curious as to how you discovered which files to change. I found my list from the asset checker on the HOF site that helps trouble shoot the HOF and BUFFY mods. HOF asset checker is at http://hof.civfanatics.net/civ4/mod.php?show=assetschecker

    (Those are used in HOF and GOTM to check for standardized versions and to assure locked modified assets ... and also contain a lot of great tools).

    My goal was to achieve backward compatibility with pre-update HOF and GOTM games, which would also achieve allowing steam players and disk players to play the same saves with HOF or BUFFY mods.

    For that, in BTS, (and also for vanilla), there were eight (or four) file swaps that made the fix, as listed below.

    Details in these posts:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpo...0&postcount=69

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpo...3&postcount=70

    I suppose short of a folder-wide replacement, what one needs to swap will depend on what goal (what level of backward compatibility) you are trying to get.

    Eventually, we might end up with one larger master Rollback list of swaps, that fixes all important functionality.

    dV
     
  14. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    I started replacing the two exes as in GermanJojo's post.
    Unfortunately, even if the game was working, the PitBoss setup wizard was not showing the DirectIp option. Browsing the folders I noticed the file PbWizard.py with last modified date of two days ago and tried to replace it. :)

    I'm not sure about stability, but I was able to load my previous game (no mod) in PitBoss and log in by DirectIp from the game.
     
  15. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I understand it's possible to tinker with the game to get Direct IP working again, but it would still be far preferable if 2K can restore the functionality to Steam users by default. Not all players are willing or able to fiddle with their game files to re-enable Direct IP, and some Pitboss games have already lost players as a result. Hopefully we'll see a positive outcome from 2K at some point. :)
     
  16. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    I wholeheartedly agree with you.
    I got this reply from 2K support:
    In the meanwhile having a workaround can mitigate the pain we feel.. ;)
    My pitboss game has now run perfectly for three days, and both me and a friend of mine (who has the Steam Mac unpatched version) were able to play without problems. My friend got a warning when logging in, something about the host (me) having different files, but that's all.

    I hope it can help.
     
  17. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,425
    What about PBEM games? Can you suggest what to replace in order to run older PBEM games (requiring same files for everyone).
     
  18. fdelbene

    fdelbene CivFanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roma, Italy
    Unfortunately I never had a PBEM game.

    If you send me a save game I can try... but cannot guarantee anything!
     
  19. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    For anyone with the steam version, 2k have put the pre steamworks version as a beta download to restore DirectIP. Hopefully it will remain there at least long enough to finish current games.
     

Share This Page