Learning Civ IV à la C2C

mcshame

Warlord
Just started a fresh playthrough with C2C on build 9310. I'm playing Indonesia on a Huge PerfectMongoose map at a Snails pace. I restarted after a couple of hours of play because the eon setting...we'll...was taking eons!

I'm a newbie player to Civ IV and C2C, so be warned! Looking forward to the journey from Caveman to Beyond!

My Youtube live stream can be found here Live Stream Channel

Recorded sessions

Game Settings
01 - Settling Jakarta

First session, I got a random Civ of Indonesia. I settled Jakarta near the ocean and rivers and seem to have 1 resource for now. City tile selected for hammers as I build up food in the city . I haven't lost my 2 warriors yet but did loose a subdued wolf (my 1st!). I got like 3 gatherers from huts and such and a wise woman that is accompanying my clubman.

Techs are mostly centered on revealing items on the map, health improvements and food. Oh, and some volcano is erupting near me, I guess I'll stay away, don't know their purpose yet. Lot's of desert on my map, trying not to damage my units too much.

Last edited:
I really wonder if I'm playing this wrong. It's progressing so slow.... I'm focusing on food production to try to grow the city but it seems like I'm falling behind the others. I lost all my warriors, not going so well.

If there are any tips on starting out, would be appreciated

Last edited:
Two things come to me right off.

1. When selecting what to build (in the city) next, always go for buildings that provide :hammers:. Unless there is an immediate and dire need for something else, :hammers: takes priority as the more you have, the faster everything else will get built. Food can wait, especially in the very early part of the game, since there are no really good sources early game.

1a. Well, the bit about :food: is partly wrong. There is a good source. It is called Animals. You have to hunt animals to develop properly in the early game.