1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Legacy bonus "Civilization 6: Rise and Fall"?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Creation & Customization' started by Bate1999, Feb 8, 2018.

  1. Bate1999

    Bate1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Does anyone know how to reactivate the legacy bonus, like are there files where I can change something or can someone make a mod that adds legacy bonus to Civilization 6: Rise and Fall?
     
  2. Bate1999

    Bate1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Can anyone please help with this? I am willing to pay for the help.
     
  3. luei333

    luei333 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Hi there. This actually wouldn't be too hard to implement, I think. I took a look at the Governments.xml file from the base game and the Expansion1_Governments.xml file from the expansion data, and really the only thing you would need to change to do this are the entries in the <GovernmentModifiers> and maybe <Modifiers> and <ModifierArguments> tables. All of the effects for the governments, in both the base game and expansion, are handled just through these tables. You would, of course, change the entries in the <Governments> tables to use the old text strings (or your own), so that the text in-game reflects the actual effects. The only thing that you might have difficulty with is the old percentage number in the governments UI, that your government used to have, and that used to show the maximum percentage you could get from legacy bonuses when choosing governments. For that, you'd likely have to change some of the base game .lua files, probably just the one, though, and you could probably copy/paste code from the old lua file to the new one, so it would definitely be possible.
     
  4. Bate1999

    Bate1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60

    Thanks for the info; I will try to look into this in the coming days. Also, are you saying that I should just be able to copy lines from the Governments.xml in the base game and like paste them over what is in the Expansion1_Governments.xml file? When I do look at it I plan to experiment with copying and pasting things but just from looking at everything briefly it looks like it will be a lot of trial and error. Unless you have a better idea on exactly what has to be changed/pasted over?
     
  5. luei333

    luei333 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    I mean, yeah you could probably copy/paste into the game's xml files, but it's not recommended that you do. You should do it via ModBuddy, it's real easy to make a small mod like that up and running (I say, having a bunch of experience with it). I probably would know at least what xml stuff to change, but I've even forgotten what I wrote a couple days ago. If you're new to modding, try doing smaller tweaks to figure out how modding works in civ 6, and the modifiers system in particular.
     
  6. Bate1999

    Bate1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60


    I have never used “ModBuddy” I guess I will have to try and lean how to use it myself (and at this point I would happily pay for DLC from Firaxis Games that made this change).
     
  7. luei333

    luei333 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    In Steam (assuming you bought it through Steam), hover over the Library category, and click on the 'Tools' entry in the drop down menu. Install Sid Meier's Civilization VI Development Tools, and maybe also the assets. (Be warned that the assets are as large as the game itself). Once the tools are downloaded, open them up, and one of the options is Mod Buddy.
     
  8. Bate1999

    Bate1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60
  9. Infixo

    Infixo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,181
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  10. Bate1999

    Bate1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60

    I know I posted this for someone else to see because it was not letting attach an image file.
     

Share This Page