Leonardos Worshop FAIL

Discussion in 'CivRev - General Discussions' started by coneman, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. coneman

    coneman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Does anyone else have the problem that when the Leonardos Workshop finishes, nothing upgrades?
    I am playing in Emperor.
    I have already discovered gunpowder and have had it for many turns before completion of Leonardos Workshop (therefore archers should become riflemen).
    I do not rush completion of Leonardos Worshop.
    Leonardos Workshop is shown as complete and I receive a notice that all units will be uprgraded.
    I have many archer armies in my cities, as well as other units.
    Nothing gets upgraded and I just wasted many turns on nothing.
     
  2. eireksten

    eireksten Protective/Organized

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Have you researched Engineering? The path from Archers to Riflemen go through Pikemen.
     
  3. ericball

    ericball Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Markham, Ontario
    Actually, Pikemen is Democracy. But the problem is most likely you bypassed one of the intermediate steps. (The same problem will happen to German Elite units.)

    Warrior -> Legion -> Knight -> Tank
    Horseman -> Knight -> Tank
    Archer -> Pikeman -> Rifleman -> Modern Infantry
    Catapault -> Cannon -> Artillery
    Galley -> Galleon -> Cruiser
     
  4. Nerowannabe

    Nerowannabe Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Earth...unfortunately
    Yes, I also dislike how the Leonardo Workshop is a one time use thing.
     
  5. Bllasae

    Bllasae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada
    It would be too cheap to use, otherwise.
     
  6. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I got this game last year and this just happened to me too.
    There is nothing in the game's Civilopedia to inform us that this will happen.
    I was traded gunpowder and hadn't researched Democracy yet, I only got 1 horseman upgraded to a knight.
    I had all of these archer armies that didn't get upgraded. Really pissed me off.
    I had to construct rifleman from scratch. I ended up losing the game to Japan's tech victory.
    I had no idea that this was the way things worked in CivRev. The in game Civilopedia is a big disappointment. :(

    There is more info civilization.wikia too, if later readers want it.
    http://civilization.wikia.com/wiki/Leonardo's_Workshop_(CivRev)
     

Share This Page