1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Less City Stacking

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by CCruise, Oct 13, 2018.

  1. CCruise

    CCruise Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Hey guys I'm looking for a way to get less city spamming from AIs in Vox Populi.

    Goal: Cities have to be at least 5 tiles apart, so every 6th tile only the next city can be founded.

    I modified some code from a mod called larger cities from whoward69 but it doesn't work. Last game I saw a city just 3 tiles away from another, can somebody help me please?

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <!-- Created by ModBuddy on 12/20/2017 3:13:37 PM -->
    <GameData>
    <Defines>
    <Update>
    <Where Name="MIN_CITY_RANGE"/>
    <Set Value="5"/>
    </Update>
    </Defines>
    <Language_en_US>
    <Delete TAG="TXT_KEY_MISSION_BUILD_CITY_DISABLED_HELP"/>
    <Row Tag="TXT_KEY_MISSION_BUILD_CITY_DISABLED_HELP">
    <Text>Cannot found a City within 5 Tiles of another City.</Text>
    </Row>
    </Language_en_US>
    </GameData>
     
  2. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,726
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Your code works just fine. The issue is probably a conflict with another mod re-writing the same "Define" after your code is executed, or else your code is in a file that is not being implemented into the game's database.
     
  3. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    24,564
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
  4. CCruise

    CCruise Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Is there a way to make sure it is loaded last or behind VP?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2018
  5. Troller0001

    Troller0001 Not an actual Troll

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Loaded last: No (not that I know of at least)
    Loaded after VP: Definitely! Set up a 'Reference' in the 'Associations'-tab in your mod's properties. Referenced mods will load first (if active). (IIRC, If two mods reference each other, then you can never tell which one loads first)
     
  6. CCruise

    CCruise Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Ah ty for the tip. So a reference is a "kind of" load order but what is a dependency then? Has it also something to do with load order?

    I'm just writing these 2 in and see it it works next game.
    <Dependencies>
    <Mod id="d1b6328c-ff44-4b0d-aad7-c657f83610cd" minversion="0" maxversion="999" title="Community Patch" />
    </Dependencies>
    <References>
    <Mod id="be2d13ee-d18d-410e-8f04-7cd19cd99a98" minversion="0" maxversion="999" title="More Luxuries" />
    </References>
     
  7. Troller0001

    Troller0001 Not an actual Troll

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    A 'dependency' means that your mod cannot be played without the mods listed as a dependency. (Mods listed as a dependency are loaded first)
    (Similarly, blocks mean the exact opposite. Your mod cannot be played together with mods listed as 'blocks')

    In your current setup, your mod cannot be played without the Community Patch (it is listed as a Dependency). The Community Patch loads before your mod.
    Your mod can be played with or without More Luxuries (it is listed as a Reference). More Luxuries (if enabled) loads before your mod.

    ----
    (Though this is not applicable in your current case, it is still useful to know:)
    Note that Lua files are an interesting case, since I believe these are not affected by this load order (you can never tell which one loads first). I'm not sure if there is a difference between Lua files imported into VFS or Lua files added as an InGameUIAddin.
    I'm hoping there's someone who knows a little more about this.
     
    CCruise likes this.
  8. CCruise

    CCruise Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Troller thank you so much for taking the time to explain it so well. You are awesome!
     
    Troller0001 likes this.

Share This Page