1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Lets talk about Air Combat!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Stalker0, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,315
    So with the manual we now understand how air combat works.

    Its pretty similar to Civ IV but with some great improvements in my opinion.

    1) You can only rebase within your range. Probably one of the biggest abuses of air in Civ IV was the ability to rebase air units any where on the planet. Now the position of air bases is much more important.

    2) Improved Interception System. The interception system is more dynamic with the ability to cancel interception with your own sweeps or to set up defensive screens of your own.

    3) Much better guided missiles. Guided missiles are both cheaper and (much more important) do not require resources. This means that any modern air force is incomplete without some missiles at the ready...just like true modern air forces.

    I am quite pleased with the changes over all, can't wait to give it a try!
     
  2. Auncien

    Auncien Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Yeah it was incredibly lame that you could rebase around the world in one turn and be in the fight the next. I like the change.
     
  3. Tennyson

    Tennyson Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Given that a turn was at least six months I didn't have a problem with rebasing.
     
  4. Conspirator

    Conspirator Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Yeah. Plus it's going to be impossible to rebase on the new continent on a terra map now. How weird.
     
  5. Semmel

    Semmel Large Sid Meiers Collider

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    if your modern jet fighter burns all its fuel after 1000 miles, how would you rebase it in RL ? You would put it on a transport and ship it over. which can be done using aircraft carriers in civ. But I must admit, is a bit lame if you take the embarkment ability into account.
     
  6. Akar

    Akar Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Id r ather not talk about it now.
     
  7. Schuesseled

    Schuesseled Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081
    youll just have to use aircraft carriers.
     
  8. Tennyson

    Tennyson Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    An unarmed fighter can carry a lot of gas. If an air unit could rebase to, say, twice it's effective range, that would take that into account.

    And if bombers and modern jet fighters have both been unlocked, you can assume in-air refueling is available, giving you an enormous range boost.

    On the other hand, there is something to be said for simplicity. People can always make mods if they want more complexity.
     
  9. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    England
    A unit should always be able to rebase to twice its range even if its carrying weapons. Think about it.

    If I'm bombing something 8 tiles away I have to go there and come back. Thats a total of 16 tiles travelled. If I'm rebasing i'm only doing a 1 way trip, why can't I go 16 tiles??

    Also, I see a problem with stealth bombers not being able to be carried on carriers - how do you get them to a new continent?
     
  10. mattpilot

    mattpilot Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Need airport tile-improvement. NAO!


    :D
     
  11. guczy

    guczy Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    268
    Absoultely, i think its really stupid that its not in the game
     
  12. Tennyson

    Tennyson Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Good point, but in that case rebasing an unarmed unit should be at least 24 tiles, if not 32, to accomodate drop tanks.
     
  13. Conspirator

    Conspirator Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    I can foresee a lot of limitations will probably be patched out or changed in the expansions like Civ 4. I mean Civ 4 used to have ranged bombardment as well, but that was changed in one of the expansions wasn't it?
     
  14. mmmfloorpie

    mmmfloorpie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Will jet fighters on air superiority still fly around the cities?
     
  15. Ahriman

    Ahriman Tyrant

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13,266
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I don't care about a lack of airport tile improvement (Ai is never likely to use that well), but having very short ranges on rebasing is likely to be very frustrating, particularly across continents.

    I hope you can give an eventual destination a long distanceaway, and the aircraft will move towards it 1 city at a time each turn. Annoying MM requirement otherwise.
     
  16. Tennyson

    Tennyson Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Civ 3 had it, I don't recall Civ 4 having it.
     
  17. Ddude97

    Ddude97 King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Civ 4 only had it in mods
     
  18. Helmling

    Helmling Philosopher King

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,677
    Amen.
     
  19. Schuesseled

    Schuesseled Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081
    Agreed, also agree with the guy who said that they should have double range for a rebase, as they can go to and back to bomb at that range.
     
  20. Greizer85

    Greizer85 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    There's unlimited stacking of air units in cities... :eek: Can you say unbalanced?! I can, and in big letters! :nuke:
     

Share This Page