1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

LM: Savannah

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Supa, Aug 19, 2004.

  1. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    A Landmark terrain for the forest.

    I always wanted some savannah in my African plains, so..




    It's supposed to be placed on plains, so it doesn't look so good on grasslands.

    Pediaicons included.

    Edit: Typos. I should be ashamed.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mrtn

    mrtn Shaven not stirred

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    8,635
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Looks nice! :thumbsup:
    Finally I'm not the only one making LM terrain... :)
     
  3. embryodead

    embryodead Caliph

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    basement
    It looks very good, too bad there's only 1 LM Forest :(
     
  4. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    Well, there is also the Marsh whose has almost the same configuration. A little cut and paste and you'd just have to sacrifice the marsh.

    I'm wondering why there aren't LM Marsh or, at least, LM Jungle.

    And it's probably not my last :)
     
  5. Madeira

    Madeira Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,437
    Location:
    Portugal
    Very cool! I want to use this but im allready using a LM Forest, cant this be used as some other LM terrain?
     
  6. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  7. skam0073

    skam0073 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    On the bireme
  8. Madeira

    Madeira Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,437
    Location:
    Portugal
    I replaced the Marsh, wasnt much used anyway
     
  9. Gogf

    Gogf Indescribable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    10,163
    Location:
    Plane Of Fish Sticks
    Awesome!

    Wait, DPII released his Zebra Warrior? I must have missed it.
     
  10. Vadus

    Vadus pretend the impossible

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    looks very good on plains, but I'd like to see some more trees standing somewhere alone in the savana, like an african Baobab, and a rock here and there ... ;)
     
  11. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    The problem is that such inclusions (rocks, tree) come more often than wished in game. And generaly, in line so it doesn't seem natural. Perhaps I could add a rock or two on the borders. I dunno.

    Gogf, it was in his Dark Continent Pack.
     
  12. Vadus

    Vadus pretend the impossible

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    yes, you're right, but one tree on one tile and one rock on one other tile (in the pcx) should work, because the unnatural appereance is more conspicuous on big savana areas. But it's a LM Terrain, and I don't think, that someone creates a hole continent only with savana...
     
  13. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,778
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    Why not just use this as LM plains?
    Great work btw :thumbsup:
     
  14. kulade

    kulade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,545
    I'd like to see this in green as tall grass... :D
     
  15. W.i.n.t.e.r

    W.i.n.t.e.r Frozen!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Monaco di Baviera!
    what does it look like with terrain improvements on them ??
     
  16. mrtn

    mrtn Shaven not stirred

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    8,635
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Because plains is a base terrain, while forest is an overlay. The base LM terrains are almost unusable.
     
  17. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,778
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    Oh, I thought it would be easy to just draw this grass on top of the LM plains file.
     
  18. mrtn

    mrtn Shaven not stirred

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    8,635
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Basically, there isn't one LM plains file, there are 3. these show how the plains connect to coast, grassland and desert, but as it doesn't show how it connect to lm grassland or desert it's of no use...
     
  19. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  20. Morfos

    Morfos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    California
    Could you please make it LMPlains? I'm already using LMForests for mangroves. If you can't, please tell me with the LMPlains are called. (The data I mean) I know pgc is one, but I can't tell which others are.

    Edit: Well, I used Cordy's plains to create an LM Plain. Its not very good, so you should cover the gaps with either grassland or mountains. I did not make the plains, they were made by Cordy, but I altered the name to make it a land mark. There are gaps with regular plains, but thats what grasslands and mountains are for. Consider it an alternative Savanah if you are already using the LMForests.

     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page