1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Logistics & Stack of Doom

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Realism Invictus' started by buck beach, May 14, 2019.

  1. buck beach

    buck beach Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    I have been hit by a 136 unit (including some 41 Str 10 Gun Batteries) Korean stack of doom under Seondeok of Silla. The batteries include four generals (maybe 5 because list of units larger than screen). There are also 29 Grenadiers and over 50 horse type units plus others.

    Opposing this wave I have a fortified city on a hill with 5 static gun emplacements and other superior upgraded units amounting to over 50 in and around the choke point city, avoiding garrisoning those that would be to severely penalized logistic wise. If all were located in the city I would have Supply Problems VI or minus 35% strength.

    Getting to the point I can't begin to stop this assault. It cuts through me like butter. I am very suspect of the AI unit's Supply Problem level because the units appear to attack at full strength. I am trying to figure out how to verify this but also am looking for an suggestions as to how to combat this dilemma.

    Hope this post makes sense.

    Buck
     
  2. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I agree. Insanely huge stacks are ridiculous.
    A hard cap for stacks at whatever the max Logistics is for that player would be appropriate if possible.
     
  3. buck beach

    buck beach Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    436

    But is it!! I'm dubious!
     
  4. 2popbulb

    2popbulb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Disable "No unit cost scaling" option. This will increase cost of units when you build units of same type and AIs wont' be able to form super huge stacks so easily.
     
  5. buck beach

    buck beach Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    Not sure but I think I did this, at least my units appear to cost more each time I build others. The present cost of units are reflected eg # of turns;# of hammers (478%). The # of hammers and % are constant for each city.

    Buck
     
  6. 2popbulb

    2popbulb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    I've seen 30-40 units in AI stacks,usually some unique units+irregulars+shock troops+some cavalry+5-10 siege units. Maybe it's because I'm playing on Noble. What difficulty are you playing on?
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
  7. buck beach

    buck beach Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    Also at Noble. The doom stack is almost 4 times that of the Supply and Logistic Problems VI level.

    Buck
     
    plasmacannon likes this.
  8. 2popbulb

    2popbulb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    What map size? On big maps AIs can have 40+cities and then they spam tons of units fast. Or game got buggy. I've encountered a strange bug in one of my games. I tried to attack barb city and when I moved my stack next to it they suddenly produced more than 15 archers in one turn.
     
  9. buck beach

    buck beach Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    Hugh Map. Running Win 7(64) but am still topping out with crashes every other turn. Guess next game I will have to drop down the map size a couple of levels.
     
  10. jafink

    jafink King

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    632
    As the game goes later and later the AI gets really big stacks, but so can the human player. When stacks start to get so huge, you basically don't even consider the logistics penalty anymore, because it will almost always be better to have 1 big stack. It is very likely that in your situation it is best to move all of your units into the city to defend. If you are interested in testing this advice you move all your units into the city and see what happens, then reload your save and try playing that turn without moving all your units into the city.
     
  11. buck beach

    buck beach Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    Thanks
     
  12. nimling

    nimling Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Huge maps are unbalancing for SoDs, but in principle if someone has that much larger an army they should win. I'm not a believer in putting hard caps on unit stacking of any sort.

    One big SoD is not the optimal way to play on the offense anyway, but it's tough for the AI to know how to gamble splitting an army off to attack lightly defended territory. If it could though, higher difficulties would be virtually impossible against a warmonger AI.
     

Share This Page