1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Long range bombardment!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ArataWata11, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. ArataWata11

    ArataWata11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    In my last game session post patch. my two neighboring civ were at war. I saw AI city bombarding attacking enemy unit 5 hexes/tiles away from said city. :eek: I thought at first new hidden feature from the post patch. :) however, on my second look, the unit being bombard was actually within 2 tiles from the city but the unit icon appeared 5 tiles away from the city. :D Civ 5 version of unit teleporting. :confused:
     
  2. Teperi Blaze

    Teperi Blaze Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Graphics error, get a screenie and send it to the bug-reports forum.

    I sometimes had ruins following me on the screen, but that problem didn't happen my last game, which I finished.
     
  3. blac

    blac Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    I've had things like boats, tile improvements and units all get stuck on the screen and move around. Could have been something like that
     
  4. norpo

    norpo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    I think it would be cool if Civ5 added teleporting catapults. It would add more military options as well as just being cool. Two squares is, in my opinion, unrealistic. A catapult would surely be able to at least have a range of 5 squares.
     
  5. Truthy

    Truthy Chatbot

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,199
    Were the arrows or rocks coming from fog of war? Maybe there was a closer unit that wasn't revealed.
     
  6. glaivemaster

    glaivemaster Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    I've been seeing this as well. The unit is within the bombardment radius of the city, and sometimes even the unit's icon is on the space it's supposed to be on, but the unit's graphic appears 3-5 tiles away.

    I also don't have a screenshot sadly, but if I see it again I'll do my best
     
  7. lepruk86

    lepruk86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    England
    I have seen this loads. It usually clears up at the end of the AI's turns though.

    I think it is to do with the reduced turn-time. So it tries to do the movement and combat at the same time.

    I am by no means any kind of programmer so no idea. It is a minor bug but at least not game breaking like some of the others. It only seems to affect the A.I attacking the A.I as well. I have yet to have it happen to me or within my boarders.

    I still get the odd graphical glitches (sheeps getting printed onto the screen) but a flip between strategic view then back to normal seems to fix that one.
     
  8. mike1117112

    mike1117112 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Texas
    I noticed that last night. AI was firing and hitting 5 tiles away. Fog was lifted all the way to the target, but was covered one tile past it. It happened several times as the city was under siege. It is modern era, and AI has RA. I thought they had modified the range on modern units, as I hadn't seen it before. It kind of made sense that modern era arty can shoot farther than a catapult. I'd be disappointed if it is a glitch.
     
  9. gingerbill

    gingerbill Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    modern artillery has always fired farther than catapult in CIV5 .

    I've only noticed this strange bug of units firing from extreme range when moving the map very quickly or after alt-tabbing and the game is re-drawing the graphics. Assume its a display bug , only seen it very rarely and never in a combat im involved in.
     
  10. ColinTH

    ColinTH Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bedford
    I thought the same - It was very strange how the unit/units being attacked seemed to be popping in and out of view!
     
  11. Finchie

    Finchie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Yesterday I saw an infantry unit being attacked, whilst the unit itself was hovering on the ocean.
    I didn't want to take a screenshot though, because last time I pressed F12, my game loaded a completely different save file and I had to replay the last 30 turns <.<

    I also saw a City State bombard a unit from 5 tiles away. It was pretty strange... I thought there may have been a range upgrade for cities, or something, but it turns out there isn't. xD
     

Share This Page