Looking For Some Tips on Empire Expansion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by lundif, Feb 10, 2010.

1. lundif

lundif Chieftain

Hi. I started playing Civ 4 this fall, and I have seem to have basics down (for Noble difficulty at least). Now, I'm looking for some tips on efficient empire expansion.

My favorite maps to play are huge Tectonics or Earth2-style maps, with a conquest win in mind. I was wondering if anyone could share their thoughts (or point me to a thread here) on how to keep my ground army marching from conquest to conquest, with minimal downtime between taking out opponents. Once you've annihilated another civ and have their choicest cities, what do you focus on building before you start cranking out more troops (preferably the non obsolete variety)? Thanks much.

-Lun

2. CivMcNut

CivMcNut Having Fun At It

It looks like you've got a healthy appetite for winning by military. One thing you can do to keep your troops moving at max speed is have at least one medic unit in your army. Resting up your troops after they get damaged in battle is the most time consuming thing you have to deal with besides actually moving there. If you can rest in a conquered city or part of your own territory that will greatly speed up your troops. Make sure you build lots of siege units. Use the siege to not only lower the defenses but suicide one or two units to knock down the defenders' strength.

If you're going for a Conquest Victory you will have to raze a bunch of cities. Keeping them can result in you getting an accidental Domination victory.

3. Yared

Yared That Guy

When you get a great general, use it to power up a weak unit and make it into a super medic. Put that weak unit in a stack with superior units (e.g., a warrior in a stack of infantry). When someone attacks your stack, it won't attack the warrior because the strongest defender always gets targeted.

This super medic will keep your stack rolling through the countryside of your enemy ;)

-