1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Low resolution tree textures: for those with performance problems around forests

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by monitor173, Dec 3, 2005.

  1. monitor173

    monitor173 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    This seems to significantly improve stuttering/poor performance related to the preponderance of trees on certain maps.

    Step 1: Delete the cache

    Remove all files in the cache folder, typically to be found in C:\Documents and Settings\[user]\Application Data\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 ([user]=winXP user account name). For those of you new to reconfiguring civ4 in this manner, this should be an essential step before making any similar alterations to the game, as the cache "preserves" settings established in previous games.

    Step 2: Install the texture file in the custom assets folder

    Download and extract the file below and install to C:\Documents and Settings\[user]\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\CustomAssets\art\shared.

    Have fun!


    EDIT: changed the file to the one featured in Stone-D's low-res texture mod, which is slightly higher resolution but with no performance difference. The full mod can be found here: http://apolyton.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=144459
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CautiousChaos

    CautiousChaos Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks, Monitor173! I installed the BlueMarble mod a while ago. Can I still use your mod and get the benefits, or, does the BlueMarble mod somehow override yours?

    -cc
     
  3. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    Thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou! Now I can play civ4 much better. Actually it's a miracle it works now, as my PC is lower than the minimum specs :p So it's duel or small maps for me, but it's still civ4!
     
  4. bio_hazard

    bio_hazard Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    esoteri, ca
    I may give this a try. Any chance it would help with black terrain problems?
     
  5. FriendlyFire

    FriendlyFire Codex WMDicanious

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,949
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ahhh Been looking for something like this.
    Cheers
     
  6. Caradoc

    Caradoc Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,010
    Thanks - a big help.
     
  7. MetHimPikeHoses

    MetHimPikeHoses Unarmed Insurgent

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Hey, good idea! I will give this a try after work. Mmm, work...
     
  8. Kal-el

    Kal-el Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
    LOL, that is one of the funniest titles I've ever read!
     
  9. MetHimPikeHoses

    MetHimPikeHoses Unarmed Insurgent

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Good job monitor. Performance improved...
     
  10. Plonkoon

    Plonkoon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Oregon, U.S.
    Hmm, maybe someone should make low res for all terrain?

    But thanks, this does help.
     

Share This Page