1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Making Ancient Era resources revealed from turn 0.

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by shiorinr, Jan 21, 2018.

  1. shiorinr

    shiorinr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Hello, I have been trying to multiplay with someone who is very picky about starting locations and the amount of rerolls done until his "good enough place" is found has become unbearable. While revealing everything won't solve the real problem, having ancient era resources revealed would help a lot. So I have been trying to do that, I found these CommunityOptions.sql and ResourceReveal.sql but changing COMMUNITY_CORE_BALANCE_RESOURCE_REVEAL value to 0, as indicated didn't have any effects, tried reseting cache on top of it but it didn't help either. Either way, looking at ResourceReveal.sql, it seems horses would still be hidden even if that option worked. Any hints on how to reveal all the Ancient Era resources from start?
     
  2. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,215
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    COMMUNITY_CORE_BALANCE_RESOURCE_REVEAL only works for luxury resources and bonus resources.

    Strategic resources are vanilla features and are not changed by Vox Populi in any way.
     
  3. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,022
    Gender:
    Male
    Another thing you can do, is choose "strategic balance" resource option depending on map type. Strategic Balance guarantees Horses, Iron, and Oil within working range of every Civ's initial Settler's position. It does not guarantee Coal, Aluminum, or Uranium. Although, they are revealed at their normal occurence in the timeline.
     
  4. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,853
    For horse and iron, you have to manually move their revelation to the agriculture tech.

    Another solution is to play with strategic balance. It should forces to have exactly one source of iron and one source of horse near the spawn point.

    Last solution is In Game Editor. Instead of restarting the game, you can manually add some ressources to the spawn point.
    (Step 1 : create a modpack with IGE and VP. Step 2 : start a MP game with the Pitboss option. Step 3 : Everyone except the host disconnect (the Pitboss option prevent the AI to take the Player place). Step 4 : use IGE to modify the map. Step 5 : everyone reconnect to the game.)

    (Legendary start could also help to reduce the number of reroll)
     
  5. shiorinr

    shiorinr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the suggestions, i'll try strategic balance.
    Unlikely it will be enough tho as it's not about having horses/iron but about having a "decent" amount of resources in capital (according to his standards) without the overload of an abundant/legendary start.
    I'm pretty sure i managed to reveal the resources requested in another installation some time ago, i just can't remember exactly which files were edited.
     
  6. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,583
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
  7. Noob Fanboy

    Noob Fanboy Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    234
    I have yet to see a "she" in this subforum.
     
  8. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,583
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    Wait, you can see people through the internet? That’s terrifying.

    G
     
    glaivemaster, thunderbird_14 and Ziad like this.
  9. Ziad

    Ziad Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,791
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Psst. They're everywhere.

    :scan:
     
  10. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    I was mistaken for one, if that counts...
     
    vyyt likes this.
  11. MorphBer

    MorphBer Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    180
    Does this guy have nj or 666 in his name? :D
     
  12. shiorinr

    shiorinr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    No idea what this is about but nah.

    I was mistaken btw, it's not only about quantity of resources but also no "bad" resources, no more than X tiles of "bad terrain", no jungle plantations and so on. So yeah, with all those reqs i guess only map editing would help.
     

Share This Page