Map generation and Bonus placement

cfeyyaz

Chieftain
Hi, I would like to make alterations regarding the bonus placement on randomly generated map(s):

1. I want to allow bonus resources to be placed adjacent to another bonus resource.
2. I want to adjust how much a starting location is sweetened by additional resources.

Are there any mods/map scripts that one of those features have already been made available?
Is there a way to implement those changes by myself by editing python files? If yes, which files should I look into and which sections on those files are responsible for placing the resources? Btw, I have some experience with programming.

Thanks in advance! :)

The first one can be done in the map scripts. Most of the scripts farm out placement of resources to a general utility bit of Python CvMapGeneratorUtil.py so if you make changes there it will affect all random maps.

The second, starting location, I have not been able to work out. It appears to be a mix of dll code and python code.

The first one can be done in the map scripts. Most of the scripts farm out placement of resources to a general utility bit of Python CvMapGeneratorUtil.py so if you make changes there it will affect all random maps.

That seems promising. Unfortunately, I spent a lot of time looing at the CvMapGeneratorUtil and also at the individual map scripts and I found very little that governs the resource placement and also nothing that denies resources to be placed adjacent to other resources. Maybe my eyes are not well trained, although I have some experience with programming (but very little with python). Could you be more specific? :)