Map Movement

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Slickshooter, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Slickshooter

    Slickshooter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Hello, I haven't played CIV IV in forever but fired it up after coming back from CIV V. What I've noticed is that when I move the mouse to the edges of the screen to move the world map, it's fairly slow, the numpad doesn't help either and I'm running this at 400 fps. I've been searching everywhere for a way to speed this up because I remember moving faster. Maybe I've just forgotten that CIV 4 movement has always been so slow? Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,871
    In my experience, the map scroll tends to slow down as you zoom out. However, you can click in the mini-map to move to a spot quickly.

    edit: Also, if you hold the mouse button while clicking on the mini-map, you can move the map around on that focal point.
     
  3. Slickshooter

    Slickshooter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Clicking on the map is quicker, but I remember it being instant and when I touched the corner of my screen the movement would be instant, now it feels like its dragging or smoothing itself over as it moves, feels very sluggish even at any zoom.
     
  4. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,871
    I never recall it being any quicker. Maybe you are just recalling the early part of the game as it does move quicker with less map revealed. Once the map is revealed though it is going to slow down a bit. The mini-map is very quick though. I don't think you are missing anything here.
     
  5. Slickshooter

    Slickshooter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28

    I was worried it was just slow because there was less map revealed, but I guess it is just standard CIV 4. Is there any .ini setting that could be related to it? If not, then I think I can probably get used to the interface again :sad:
     
  6. goldys_lackey

    goldys_lackey Hitler

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Are you sure you hadn't been playing Starcraft?
     
  7. Slickshooter

    Slickshooter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Pretty sure, the only RTS games I play are Civ and Total War. Maybe it's because Rome: Total War moves fast and the newer ones don't. I think I've found my answer!
     
  8. goldys_lackey

    goldys_lackey Hitler

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Are you running a mod like BUG? It has a 'field of view' feature that allows you to lower the angle of your viewpoint so that you can see more land.
     
  9. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,832
    Location:
    Erebus
    Civ is TBS.
     
  10. Pendle Witch

    Pendle Witch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Sabden, England
    Turn antialiasing down to 0 in graphics options?
     
  11. Slickshooter

    Slickshooter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Of course :lol:

    Yep. Tried everything conceivable, but I got used to the interface again after putting in a good hundred hours, CIV is perfect as it is.
     

Share This Page